Door Crack Repair

mikedrini

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I have this to deal with on the top of the 64 New Yorker's driver side front door. The metal under the door is fine, but I am looking for ideas about how to fix the crack in the plastic panel. I have some PC-7 epoxy, would that work with a little bit of sanding and whatnot?

Thanks!

Preview attachment IMG_20180118_111940598_LL.jpg

That looks like the paint has cracked and peeled off.

I'm probably a complete dunce as I have ZERO experience with exterior restoration or what these doors were comprised of, but it's rather thick. Was the paint back then that thick? It looks and feels like a plastic panel over the metal.

I'm probably a complete dunce as I have ZERO experience with exterior restoration or what these doors were comprised of, but it's rather thick. Was the paint back then that thick? It looks and feels like a plastic panel over the metal.
Yep, that's paint. And if sprayed on thick, it could be that thick. Looks like a lacquer paint.

Safe to assume the only thing to do would be to remove and repaint the whole door (especially since I am repainting the whole car)?
Yep, that is correct. Strip everything down to bare metal before painting. I'd put nothing over that existing paint anywhere on the car as it's most likely going to crack elsewhere.

Safe to assume the only thing to do would be to remove and repaint the whole door (especially since I am repainting the whole car)?
As that paint is so thick, I'd half consider getting the car media blasted. Any chemical paint stripper or mechanical strip mechanism (sander, bristle disc, etc), would take quite a long time and would be a ton of work. As always, if using a media blaster, find a reputable one so he/she doesn't warp panels.