1965 Windsor

Dallas Cruz

Reaction score
Hey i'm new here. I'm building a 65 Windsor. This is my first project. I plan on dropping the c ar and painting everything back, no chrome. It came with a 361, which I've pulled. I got myself a 383 block and will be building that for her. So far i'm in the process of stripping her down.

wind1.jpg
wind2.jpg
IMG_1933.JPG
IMG_8259.JPG
IMG_8920.JPG

Hey i'm new here. I'm building a 65 Windsor. This is my first project. I plan on dropping the c ar and painting everything back, no chrome. It came with a 361, which I've pulled. I got myself a 383 block and will be building that for her. So far i'm in the process of stripping her down.

View attachment 195524 View attachment 195525 View attachment 195526 View attachment 195527 View attachment 195528

Good luck with your project. Be sure to save all of the chrome and other parts like the engine you are not going to use. These types of parts are hard to come by and have value to others. Be sure while you have it disassembled that you put a full set of rubber bushings in the front end and inspect the steering linkage and ball joints for excessive wear as this is a whole lot easier with the car apart. This is also the perfect time to do a disc brake conversion if that is what you are planning to do. Also buy yourself a copy of the FSM for the car as it will be invaluable as a reference for how to do various repair projects as part of the restoration.

Dave

View attachment 195524 View attachment 195525 View attachment 195526 View attachment 195527 View attachment 195528

If by dropping the car, you mean lowering it, be careful as to how you do that as the front steering geometry does not take kindly to being lowered as it was designed to operate withing certain height limits. Once you get outside of those limits, the camber angle, caster angle and toe settings are adversely effected. This will make the car handle like crap and eat tires.

Dave