1968 Fury - Parts or Project

Rust bucket

Reaction score
I recently purchased a 1968 Fury 3 convertible. It needs floor pans, trunk, and rear frame rails for starters. The rear wheel wells and convertible top frame are in great shape. I'm new to restoration but want to get started. Is this a parts car or project? What years and models would parts fit this car? Thank you!

20210427_171001.jpg

I recently purchased a 1968 Fury 3 convertible. It needs floor pans, trunk, and rear frame rails for starters. The rear wheel wells and convertible top frame are in great shape. I'm new to restoration but want to get started. Is this a parts car or project? What years and models would parts fit this car? Thank you!

View attachment 456631
My advice... This is a parts car for you.

A very wise man, who has restored several very high end cars, once told me "start with the best car that you can afford" on a restoration project. Your car needs, well... everything... From just that pic, I see thousands and thousands of dollars and hours in work. I don't know how much you can do yourself, but this could easily cost $30-50K to restore a car that you can buy a nice one that's all done for $15K. Something that needs a little TLC for half that.

Sell this car and buy something closer to done... Something that drives so you can putter with it and still go to the cars and coffee at Dairy Queen with Stan and the guys while you are working on it.

In other words, bluntly, this isn't going to be fun... This is going to be grueling, mind numbing work for a couple of years or more, every night and every weekend... Most likely, you'll never get close to finishing it and you'll get sick of looking at it in five years and you'll sell it in bushel baskets, losing just about every dollar you put in it and say "Why didn't someone tell me how hard this was?".