1968 New Yorker restoration

Restoration

1. dodge674

dodge674 New Member

Hi everyone,

I'm quite new here in the forum so I will introduce myself first.

My name is Jaron and I live in the Netherlands. I work as a car mechanic specializing in classic cars.
    I own a 1968 Chrysler New Yorker since a while that I am restoring. Beside driving a 1969 Dodge D100 sweptline as a daily driver I'm not that familiar with Mopars, so that is why I'm posting this thread. To give some updates on the restoration, but also maybe getting some info and help.

The New Yorker I'm restoring is a 1968 model and was sold new in California. It is an original one owner black plate car and it even has the original invoice and insurance papers.

I've bought the car off course because I liked the model, but also because of the history. The body is incredibly straight and original and that was what made me fell for this car. Although it is a California car, it does have some rust issues. A bit more than I was expecting, but that's normal with a older car.

The left front floor pan is one of the issues, but that is easy to fix. A bit worse is the roof and underside of the rear window. It obviously had some moisture issues because of the vinyl roof and I do believe that is also the reason why the left front floor pan is rusted. I removed the vinyl roof (it had seen better days) and found a few small holes in the roof. The biggest problem is that the underside off the rear window molding has rusted away. It is quite complex shaped, so that is going to be a challenge to repair. The rest of the car looks like a California car should (luckily).

All the chrome and stainless look perfect, except for the rear bumper. So if anyone has a good one, I might be interested.

The interior was a bit tired and very dirty. The seats have already been reupholstered, but haven't done anything to the rest of the interior yet. Body first.