'66 Fury neutral safety switch

roelb

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2015
Messages
80
Reaction score
28
Location
UK/South Africa
Guys , another stupid question, but please help. My '66 wagon with the 390 stroker was 3 on the tree. I have now changed to a 727 auto. The transmission has single thread point for the neutral safety switch in stead of the more common? multi prong.
Can anyone advise me how to do the wiring from the switch to the engine? I have a shop manual, but I do feel a bit lost. Not sure how to connect the single thread and to what exactly in order to get the car to start ...
Thanks

20210427_165538.jpg


20210427_181315.jpg
 

mikedrini

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2017
Messages
650
Reaction score
595
Location
Center Barnstead, NH
I believe you just run a wire from the NSS to the Starter Relay as shown in your photo. You have to be sure you have the 4 terminal starter relay and PLEASE don't confuse starter relay with starter solenoid. Two very different parts.
 

roelb

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2015
Messages
80
Reaction score
28
Location
UK/South Africa
Thanks Mikedrini. The diagram show just a single wire with a fuse? in.
Yes, I shall make sure it is the starter relay, thanks
 

413

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2019
Messages
1,403
Reaction score
1,548
Location
NW USA
You need an automatic trans starter relay. The terminal for that wIre is not on a manual trans relay.
 

roelb

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2015
Messages
80
Reaction score
28
Location
UK/South Africa
Thanks 413, you are correct, I did not knew about the difference. Luckily a local supplier have one in stock .
Thanks again:)
 

HWYCRZR

Senior Member
FCBO Gold Member
Joined
May 13, 2015
Messages
4,524
Reaction score
6,025
Location
Fargo, ND
Thanks Mikedrini. The diagram show just a single wire with a fuse? in.
Yes, I shall make sure it is the starter relay, thanks
That’s not a fuse in the wire diagram. It is a simple connector. The wire purpose is to complete the ground so your starter relay will function. No need for a fuse as no current is flowing through.
 

3175375

Senior Member
Joined
May 16, 2018
Messages
2,592
Reaction score
4,553
Location
Centerville, South Dakota
There is current flowing through the wire (to ground ultimately at the negative post of the battery), but no fuse is required and should not be installed there.
 

HWYCRZR

Senior Member
FCBO Gold Member
Joined
May 13, 2015
Messages
4,524
Reaction score
6,025
Location
Fargo, ND
There is current flowing through the wire (to ground ultimately at the negative post of the battery), but no fuse is required and should not be installed there.
. You are correct. I was thinking of that technicality. What I probably should have said is it doesn’t see electrical load, but completes the circuit so there will be current flowing through.
 

halifaxhops

Retired USAF MSGT (SW) yes navy also.
FCBO Gold Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2017
Messages
2,905
Reaction score
1,579
Location
HALIFAX PA
Thanks Mikedrini. The diagram show just a single wire with a fuse? in.
Yes, I shall make sure it is the starter relay, thanks
Thats not a fuse it is the symbol for a connector.
 

70bigblockdodge

Old Man with a Hat
Joined
Jan 19, 2013
Messages
13,193
Reaction score
10,624
Location
Avonmore Pa.
If you want your reverse lights to work. The harness is off of the windshield wiper section of bulkhead and factory switch is on 68 down style column.
 

roelb

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2015
Messages
80
Reaction score
28
Location
UK/South Africa
Thanks guys,I really appreciate the info.
Was also thinking of the backup light. I still have the wiring for that from when it was a 3 speed, a plug with two purple wires that is the backup lamp. Now the auto tranny do not have a place for such a switch...

20210502_104907.jpg
 

roelb

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2015
Messages
80
Reaction score
28
Location
UK/South Africa
Thanks for clearing up the 'fuse'. I did wonder why a fuse there. So, just a connector then
 

413

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2019
Messages
1,403
Reaction score
1,548
Location
NW USA
1966-1968 AT backup lamp switch is on the console shifter or the steering column.

That wiring you have is for manual only.
 
Top