'66 Imperial Ammeter

Mick

Reaction score
Happy 4th everyone,
Amp meter is dead. I recently had to pull the instrument panel because the odometer broke and the clock wasn't working. Got it back, hooked it all up, applied power and poof, blew a fusible link and no start. Took a look at the backside of the fuse box, and sure enough, had heavy corrosion on one wire, burn marks on another. Corrected fuse box issue, new fuse, new fusible link, and boom - fired right up...except now I noticed nothing on ammeter. Just dead. Pored over the FSM schematic (I'm no electrician), and posts here, but no joy.
Ideas or leads?

Happy 4th everyone,
Amp meter is dead. I recently had to pull the instrument panel because the odometer broke and the clock wasn't working. Got it back, hooked it all up, applied power and poof, blew a fusible link and no start. Took a look at the backside of the fuse box, and sure enough, had heavy corrosion on one wire, burn marks on another. Corrected fuse box issue, new fuse, new fusible link, and boom - fired right up...except now I noticed nothing on ammeter. Just dead. Pored over the FSM schematic (I'm no electrician), and posts here, but no joy.
Ideas or leads?

Run a continuity test on the ammeter to see if it has burned out and gone open. It was pretty common for the needle on these units to get stuck as the units repeated heated and cooled from the load. If the needle is stuck it is in the first stage of failing and will sooner or later short out. In that case you should by pass the ammeter and install an under dash unit or try to find a NOS replacement. Would be a good idea to also do the partial ammeter by pass under the hood to reduce the load. There are several posts on this site about how to do that.

Dave

Thank you. I should clarify that the need isn't stuck, it just doesn't move one way or the other with power applied.

I might have some ‘66 instrument clusters for parts.

No, I am not.