67 New Yorker Power Window Removal and Re-install

Patrick

Reaction score
I'm a noob to C-bodies so it might be a little presumptuous to do a tutorial but I didn't find anything that matched my 67 New Yorker for power window re and re. So here it is:

First, remove the door panels. It's simple enough but don't forget to remove the screws from the arm rest and pull strap. Then carefully pull the cards off. There are tools that help but I just went around the panel slowly and carefully. It is easy to break the old clips so your mileage may vary.

20150401_174223.jpg

20150401_174235.jpg

Lower the window all the way. Once down remove the bolts holding the motor and regulator. There are 6 in all:

20150402_192713.jpg

Support the regulator because it will fall. At the bottom of the glass is an adjustable support/stop with two bolts. Remove that. Now push the regulator assembly towards the front of the glass until you can remove the rollers from the tracks attaching it to the glass. You may have to move the motor assembly up and down a bit to get the arms far enough forward to pop out. Once done push/pull the glass up and support it in place or, preferably, remove it. There are two stops at the top:

20150401_174930.jpg

20150401_174937.jpg

Remove the bolts and the stop then pull the glass out.

You will then need to loosen the front track bolts to allow the motor and regulator to be removed. The better idea would be to remove both the front and rear tracks for cleaning and lubrication.

Note!! - Do not remove the motor from the assembly until you have used a clamp or a vice or something to immobilize the arms against the mounting plate. If you do not the large spring will unwind and turn the arms into a tomahawk. See other threads like this one for ideas on how to immobilize it rebuild the motor.