WANTED 68' c-body brake switch with cruise

Status
Not open for further replies.

sprice

Active Member
Feedback: 1 / 0 / 0
Joined
Dec 7, 2011
Messages
261
Reaction score
111
Location
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Contact seller
I am looking for this brake switch for my 68' 300. It apparently is supposed to have a vacuum line going to the switch to break the cruise when the brake is pressed. A part number would be helpful as well and I'll keep searching. I have seen two different kinds on the internet. Hoping some experience here can help. Thanks.
 

Welder guy

Old Man with a Hat
FCBO Gold Member
Feedback: 1 / 0 / 0
Joined
Dec 30, 2016
Messages
10,302
Reaction score
14,795
Location
Millet Alberta
I have NOS switch still in it’s original box . PN 2926676 . It still has its plastic Guard . I bought it a while back when I was troubleshooting a issue on my 69 sport Fury’s C/C . The 68/69 C/C are the same.
C608509C-34E4-4FD7-A3E3-6F3A18BB2823.jpeg
C2A06F51-A0C9-4D09-AEB1-50A86DB832E2.jpeg
BA193923-BD2A-4FFD-8F65-00DCA08B9112.jpeg
5A661AD2-9CD6-4407-A5FF-926D251050BC.jpeg
873F1114-8BE5-47C1-AFF7-89165C2DB48F.jpeg
A12369F3-307C-43FB-BAF6-D05E70DC5162.jpeg
9A898717-518F-4A34-872A-A3DD009EE1B1.jpeg
68C66E92-E2BD-4FF7-BF30-3060BA294D35.jpeg
 

Welder guy

Old Man with a Hat
FCBO Gold Member
Feedback: 1 / 0 / 0
Joined
Dec 30, 2016
Messages
10,302
Reaction score
14,795
Location
Millet Alberta
Here’s a few pictures of a used one with the mounting bracket on it . You will need the bracket to properly mount the switch beside your brake pedal . This switch is missing the brake pedal switch arm that you can see on the new switch
49846AD7-647B-48F5-BB99-699106126F88.jpeg
FF9C168B-C42B-402C-B2B9-720051961C7A.jpeg
D2BA0A0C-1B7A-4D42-9FFC-ADCAFA5264B0.jpeg
BD0D0373-0027-4F80-9E8F-8C852BF783A6.jpeg
 

sprice

Active Member
Feedback: 1 / 0 / 0
Joined
Dec 7, 2011
Messages
261
Reaction score
111
Location
Winnipeg, Manitoba
I think what you are suggesting is that both are needed to work as the unit? If that’s the case, what you need for both pieces?
 

Welder guy

Old Man with a Hat
FCBO Gold Member
Feedback: 1 / 0 / 0
Joined
Dec 30, 2016
Messages
10,302
Reaction score
14,795
Location
Millet Alberta
Yes , you need the switch, mounting bracket and the striker pin ( for lack of a better name) that mounts on the brake pedal, it’s the part that touches the switch arm when you press on the pedal. The shop manual for your car is your best friend in this case it has detailed pictures of what parts you need and how to make them work.
 

Welder guy

Old Man with a Hat
FCBO Gold Member
Feedback: 1 / 0 / 0
Joined
Dec 30, 2016
Messages
10,302
Reaction score
14,795
Location
Millet Alberta
I will try and get you some better pictures of the switch mounted in my car when I get home from work. The cruise in my car actually came out of a 68 300 so it should be a good example of what your looking for, The 69 Fuselage brake switch mounting bracket is slightly different but does the exact same job. I just went through my entire system a couple months ago so I’m very familiar with the entire cruise set up
 

sprice

Active Member
Feedback: 1 / 0 / 0
Joined
Dec 7, 2011
Messages
261
Reaction score
111
Location
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Yes, I have the service manual however could not see that switch clear enough. My internet search gave me part #2880115 and now I can't find the other, seems it was from B-Bodies forum but didnt look like it had the vacuum switch. Anyway yours looks like the correct one.
 

sprice

Active Member
Feedback: 1 / 0 / 0
Joined
Dec 7, 2011
Messages
261
Reaction score
111
Location
Winnipeg, Manitoba
I believe so however now that you have asked I better check. I have a 1970's system for another car and the servo's look the same however the 70's and up have 1 vacuum line, the pre70's I believe is two. I will be at the farm tomorrow to confirm. It came with cables, electrical and I have the cable mount on the intake so I think I'm all good there. Let me check on this.
 

cbarge

World Famous Barge in a Budget
FCBO Gold Member
Feedback: 3 / 0 / 0
Joined
Nov 22, 2010
Messages
5,024
Reaction score
8,329
Location
Kingston Ontario Eh?
The 68 cruise control set up was a 1 year only set up.
I had it in my 68 NYer and was not reliable; especially the vacuum operated brake switch thingy mentioned in this thread.
Best off installing a later model cruise set up--servo and all--from a 70's or 80's Mopar.
But that's just my opinion.
 

Welder guy

Old Man with a Hat
FCBO Gold Member
Feedback: 1 / 0 / 0
Joined
Dec 30, 2016
Messages
10,302
Reaction score
14,795
Location
Millet Alberta
The only issue I’ve had with my cruise control the last 36 years was the speed button on the signal lever stopped working properly so I changed out the lever with a used one and that fixed the issue. My vacuum brake switch has worked fine for me. I did open up my servo clean it , lightly oil the small gears and reseal the rubber diaphragm and cork gasket . It worked better after that and my speedo needle stopped bouncing around after that.
 

Welder guy

Old Man with a Hat
FCBO Gold Member
Feedback: 1 / 0 / 0
Joined
Dec 30, 2016
Messages
10,302
Reaction score
14,795
Location
Millet Alberta
Here’s some pictures of the C/C brake switch and the brake pedal striker . Sorry about the crappy pictures but it is an extremely tight fit getting in there , I highly recommend when you do the install of the cruise control you take the front seat out , it will give you a lot of room to get in under there .
B7E5855C-A29C-4C25-AC42-AC4DBD19B574.jpeg
F459D5F6-41B2-4EF3-813A-EBFCF8A1A373.jpeg
1BE40A2B-6AA6-4334-AAA4-5788DC8D1C85.jpeg
C91CDCBB-901D-4252-BD36-5F652B9A8F4F.jpeg
C241C45B-352D-456E-A151-C277713EB0B3.jpeg
 

Welder guy

Old Man with a Hat
FCBO Gold Member
Feedback: 1 / 0 / 0
Joined
Dec 30, 2016
Messages
10,302
Reaction score
14,795
Location
Millet Alberta
Hers a few pictures of the servos for the 68/69 C/C . They both work the same and look alike with one difference the vacuum line that goes to the brake switch is on the back of the servo beside the speedo cable connections while the other servo’ vacuum connections are on the front beside each other. All mounting bolts and wiring connectors are identical and work the same . I have taken the servo mechanisms apart cleaned , lubed the gears and replaced the small filter . It sure settled down my bouncing speedometer needle .
34D132FF-B70F-4715-AF07-E76A9E005A27.jpeg
CFD12E04-5715-40F2-8A39-29606148AE51.jpeg
6DE93E92-FB6A-4D90-A59B-146CEC2E183C.jpeg
A2FCD88D-6DFD-492B-B12B-A4CD2B843F47.jpeg
71949CD5-5345-4CC2-88C7-866679BF115F.jpeg
95D9D80A-AA66-40B4-8E68-AFE434007446.jpeg
6FBECA1D-DDCD-4E92-B1CA-2FDFCF46BB91.jpeg
 

Welder guy

Old Man with a Hat
FCBO Gold Member
Feedback: 1 / 0 / 0
Joined
Dec 30, 2016
Messages
10,302
Reaction score
14,795
Location
Millet Alberta
These servo’s work with this 3 wire style of Signal light handle with a small button to set speed on the end and chrome twist ring for resume
0B4FB8A0-99CE-4CAC-B1FB-D5FBF69BF964.jpeg
8C284E84-7BC6-4073-A6F1-7A2480DCB453.jpeg
A9214411-D6AD-420C-8AE3-A2D5F753C897.jpeg
224A52CD-EA2D-4F32-8C61-02213D0181A6.jpeg
78BAA5E2-9375-4CC7-A223-F5B156F3008D.jpeg
FDDCDBBC-61E5-4637-A3BF-0BD4B1E4079C.jpeg
01FA639D-40C5-4769-91E0-F82EC8AA67D4.jpeg
1859686A-ED00-4CEF-8F76-1647D6F5A296.jpeg
 

sprice

Active Member
Feedback: 1 / 0 / 0
Joined
Dec 7, 2011
Messages
261
Reaction score
111
Location
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Ok, I didn’t see this message before I sent the last one. Here’s the pics I have. I think we are on same page with servos. My cruise lever is a bit different however thinking would function same and require the two vacuum servo.

35018E18-2441-48D4-97C6-488DE10D5737.jpeg


F5CE11D9-44B2-4D10-A130-1F145915BFAD.jpeg


B6FAB916-8A01-4F15-8342-7626799F7C81.jpeg


0E60721F-4082-45EE-B565-FE36C5398DBC.jpeg


07A61BD1-764D-4A9A-A5DE-A07B8071CB21.jpeg
 

Welder guy

Old Man with a Hat
FCBO Gold Member
Feedback: 1 / 0 / 0
Joined
Dec 30, 2016
Messages
10,302
Reaction score
14,795
Location
Millet Alberta
That’s not a 69 handle , that’s a 70 or 71 c/c handle . I will need to see more detailed pictures of the button end and of the wires coming out of the other end . I believe That one works with the newer style servo , the single vacuum port Unidentified Cruise Control Lever.
 
Last edited:

Welder guy

Old Man with a Hat
FCBO Gold Member
Feedback: 1 / 0 / 0
Joined
Dec 30, 2016
Messages
10,302
Reaction score
14,795
Location
Millet Alberta
Can you take detailed Inventory pictures of your cruise parts, then we can figure out what year specific c/c parts you have . Then we can figure out parts you need or don’t need. After that we can do some basic testing as per the FSM , then installation.
 

sprice

Active Member
Feedback: 1 / 0 / 0
Joined
Dec 7, 2011
Messages
261
Reaction score
111
Location
Winnipeg, Manitoba
There was a link to the various years mopar cruise levers in one of your earlier posts. Very interesting. I know I was mistaken on much of them. According to the pictures, the lever I have is from a 72’. I have a 73’ Imperial am sure it has the 74’ lever according to the pictures. At the end of the day we’re trying to match parts. If this is correct, as you mentioned it may be that I can use the single vacuum port servo. I didn’t see your message until I got back from the farm. The box is there with the cruise parts. I guess we need to determine what will work with the lever I have.

49829C8B-A4D5-4581-BFA0-14D21F6F36FC.jpeg


2B8F9F07-750C-4728-9CA3-A670AAE16788.jpeg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top