73 Fury Radio Conversion

theos911

Reaction score
I picked up my Fury in November and found that the radio was dead. The AM radios are pretty expensive and the FMs are ridiculous. I've heard of using newer radios and I'm ok with the idea if it gets me a working system. I'm looking mainly to get FM, but cassette would be handy too.

So, being a mopar noob I ask the experts -> What would you recommend that would fit and require the least amount of rewiring and modification? Anything I should know about the switching process?

t2ec16hhjgye9nookpmkbqp.jpg
kgrhqvhjeqfcdwnuohobqp7.jpg

t2ec16hhjgye9nookpmkbqp.jpg

kgrhqvhjeqfcdwnuohobqp7.jpg

Welcome to the board, VERY NICE CAR! I love it......

It all depends on your tastes, I am happy with am/fm cd. Others may want I pod hook up. Photoed is of a 71 polara I used to own. The dashes are similar and share the same curvature. I had a Kenwood am/fm cd player with a amp under the rear seat and a couple of 6x9's in the rear package shelf and some small speakers under the dash of the old 4x10 dash speaker. I ran speaker wire and pulled power from the fuse box.....simple.

DSCF0223.jpg

DSCF0223.jpg

118263 2009 front seat.jpg

Welcome, Theo.
Are you looking for a radio with vintage styling or is a modern aftermarket radio what you were thinking of?
Oh. And did you cassette?

< Sent from my tablet >

Last edited:
I'm mainly looking to get AM/FM, but Cassette would be handy - both for Cassette to iPod/Doohickey and the huge number of Cassettes we have lying around.

Vintage styling would be awesome, but is less a factor than price.

An original am/fm should be easy to find for a hundeed or two.

You could take your am radio and have the cnversion done which would includ am/fm and external extensions for a cd player or I pod

The bottom looks to be the only one with the curved face plate, which is correct.

:welcome:............ Nice car.