Alternator Question

JM_ART

Reaction score
I’m still learning about my ‘68 New Yorker. I guess I’ve been a slow-mover regarding some of the things I want to accomplish because I’m devoting more time to reading about the car, it’s parts, and likely updating/upgrading paths.

One of the parts I’m looking at is the alternator. Here’s phots of the casting number and what I think is the part number, which is on the upper side of the rear of the alternator.

Am I reading this as an alternator made in 1963? It has only one field connector on the back. I don’t see any relative information on the car’s window sticker re: the alt. Is this a 26 amp unit? Seems like it would be a bit low with power windows, locks, drivers seat, A/C, a rear defroster, and am/fm multiplex radio optioned, doesn’t it?

Im asking because I don’t know how many amps this alt should be putting out. If it’s a low amperage unit, I’d like to replace it with a higher amp unit (nothing crazy, but certainly better than 26 amps). Your thoughts and/or guidance is always appreciated. Thanks!

480245D3-81BB-4C7B-8537-4CD881B08028.jpeg

42C4D9A1-554C-4F6B-9571-9D8F40590F1A.jpeg

Last edited:
In the FSM on page 8-78 it shows that cars equipped with AC should have a 44 amp alternator. The special equipment one that is listed is only for 51 amps. Anything more than that I would be concerned about overloading the wiring. Remember too that you won't be running all of these systems at once.

The casting number identifies that particular casting only. The stamped number identifies the particular unit assembly, which is the ID number you'll find in the parts book and other similar publications.