Any carpet experts here?

Jon O.

Reaction score
Asking here because I have heard so many different opinions from other people.
I have early 70's two tone shag carpet. The pad has turned into nothing but dust, so it feels like walking on the hardwood floor underneath it. I want to buy a new pad, but I'm unsure what weight or kind to buy. I've tried to look it up, and ask other people but there are so many opinions that I'm somewhat lost. I'm looking for something that will make the carpet last as long as possible.

Jute padding, made just for carper underlayment. I would also recommend sound deadner placed directly on the floor pans under the jute and carpet.

Search online or most trim shops can supply you.

Sorry I should have been a little clearer. This is residential carpet, not carpet in a car.

I was wondering what kind of car came with two tone shag, and why you were walking in your car. I'm no expert, however every shag carpet I've ever pulled up had the standard foam carpet underlay which, over time, as you've found, turns to dust. I grew up with green shag, in photos it looks like grass.

I was wondering what kind of car came with two tone shag, and why you were walking in your car. I'm no expert, however every shag carpet I've ever pulled up had the standard foam carpet underlay which, over time, as you've found, turns to dust. I grew up with green shag, in photos it looks like grass.
Yes, i guess ill just use whatever is on sale then. I was curious if anybody in that line of work had some knowledge to share. I got so many mixed opinions from other people.
And i know exactly what you mean about green carpet. Our entire living room, dining room, stairs and hallway and bathroom have green sculptured carpet from way back when. The bedrooms have the two tone shag, gold and orange. The shag is so thick that my dyson gets stuck trying to sweep it, so i keep an old vacuum upstairs just for the bedrooms.