Any Wildwood Front Disc Conversion Users?

65Fury440

Reaction score
I recall they made a set of 4 wheel discs for Jay Leno's 1958 Oldsmobile, and have a good reputation with car builders so you shouldn't have any issues, but there's a technical hotline if required.

Good luck with the new brakes.

I run Wilwood but because I have Disc spindles and they don't make a kit for it I had to make my own. So I cannot comment on the quality or completeness of their kit.

The Dynalite calipers however, well, they work better than the factory BUDD calipers. quality of machining is outstanding. Their brake pads, take FOR-EV-ER to bed in. Once they do, it'll try to put you through the windshield.

In closing, calipers, linings, hoses, top freakin notch. Kits, I have no experience with.

Not my choice for a C body that will get more than cruise nite trailered to the car show duty.

The 72 rotor is 11.75" in diameter vs 11" and 1.25" thick vs .8something for the Wilwood. Not what I want to haul down 4800 lbs from speed more than once.

Now if they came up with a caliper adapter kit to hang a 6 piston caliper on the stock rotor, they'd have something. As it is all they are selling is the ability for people to point through the wheel spokes at cruise nite and go "oooh Wilwood".

Kevin

Correct me if I'm wrong, but doesn't the W.W. setup allow one to keep the 14" wheels? Sometimes keeping one's 14" wheel covers is desireable, like the 66 300 deep dish spinners that are so gorgeous, and the really nice Dodge Charger/Polara/Monaco deep dish spinners.

That being said, if W.W. doesn't measure up in terms of being as good as or better than the factory disc setup (which other than tracking down the spindles and booster is an easy swap), then I would dismiss it.