Axle Bearings

MightyMats

Reaction score
Well I finally spent some serious time rewiring the entire engine bay of my 67 Chrysler 300 last week. I eliminated the Ammeter in the dash and eliminated the old alternator wiring sending 14volts back through everything. I wired some 8 gauge wire directly from the alternator to the positive on the starter solenoid and removed all stock electrical tape from the harness. Its all zip tied right now as i wait for my split loom to come in.

Drove it around for a bit, lit the tires up and had some fun. I got in the car this morning to drive it to work and I hear a loud "clunk" "clunk" "clunk" "clunk," coming from the driver side rear axle.

I am thinking with my shenanigans I might have screwed up something, or just made an existing problem worse. I've been fiddling with this car since I bought it six months ago bringing it up to speed and fixing things that just haven't been address in decades.

Who do you guys buy your axle bearings from? I think this is the next thing i will replace and then all the suspension bushings. Are Timken bearings still a great quality bearing? I heard they are made in China now but I cannot confirm that.

Thanks,
Tyler

Well I finally spent some serious time rewiring the entire engine bay of my 67 Chrysler 300 last week. I eliminated the Ammeter in the dash and eliminated the old alternator wiring sending 14volts back through everything. I wired some 8 gauge wire directly from the alternator to the positive on the starter solenoid and removed all stock electrical tape from the harness. Its all zip tied right now as i wait for my split loom to come in.

Drove it around for a bit, lit the tires up and had some fun. I got in the car this morning to drive it to work and I hear a loud "clunk" "clunk" "clunk" "clunk," coming from the driver side rear axle.