Carburetor Comparison

BLUPORT

Carpe Diem Cras
Reaction score
I'm tossing around carb ideas for my car (68 Newport, 2bbl 383/727 for those who don't already know) and right now a 4bbl conversion isn't in the budget. I'm aware we have a forum member who does amazing work on rebuilds, but I'm looking at 24-hour solutions.

Checking all the local parts houses, I narrowed it down to these 2 carbs to replace my Carter that is leaking at the gaskets. (I'm not rebuilding it myself.)

With that said, between these two carbs, which look rather identical, is there a difference in these?

https://www.autozone.com/fuel-delivery/carburetor/autoline-carburetor/320217_591810_0

https://www.autozone.com/fuel-delivery/carburetor/united-carburetors-carburetor/169136_0_1879

To me, it appears to just be Carters rebuilt by different people, does that sound about right?

Also, I know lots of people hate VatoZone, I'm not a huge fan myself, but I'm a former Manager, and still have connections that will save me more than a few bucks on this.

Several years ago I bought an Autoline rebuilt for my 83 D150. It worked well for many years until I upgraded things but the engine it was on was still running smooth after near 80K miles when I yanked it for a major motor upgrade.
EDIT: After doing the math, that was 22 or 23 years ago and I yanked the motor it was on in 03 so enough time has gone by that I'd not guarantee much is still the same. I do recall they were rebuilt in Winterpeg at the time.

I'm tossing around carb ideas for my car (68 Newport, 2bbl 383/727 for those who don't already know) and right now a 4bbl conversion isn't in the budget. I'm aware we have a forum member who does amazing work on rebuilds, but I'm looking at 24-hour solutions.

Checking all the local parts houses, I narrowed it down to these 2 carbs to replace my Carter that is leaking at the gaskets. (I'm not rebuilding it myself.)