Cleaning interior metal

Marian

Reaction score
I'm new here and a bit frustrated. Car is at shop and my homework assignment is to clean, polish the interior molding. It's mostly stainless steel. I've tried nevr dull. No luck. Then blue magic with polish wheel on drill. Didn't get out the rust pocks. Or what ever they are called. Perhaps what I see is what I'll get. Just thought I could get it cleaner and smoother that this. If someone out there has a better idea..I'm all ears. Please remember, I'm new to this and being a woman (surprise), I was hoping for more. (Ugghh, just heard what you were thinking) :) I don't care what you recommend, I'll try it. Please don't view and not respond...any help whatsoever will be appreciated! I'll even invite ya over for some Jamison's. Now that's some serious desperation.

Thanks,
Marian

Last edited:
Firstly,:welcome:. If it is stainless and if it is only slightly scuffed, you can wet sand the trim. Depending on how badly scratched it is, the starting grit may be 600 or 800 working progressively to a finer grit and finishing with a 2000 grit. Then the polishing wheel comes out for the finale. It can make a mirror out of your trim. Here is are links to a polishing and repair video series.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wTxR8LB9iek&feature=channel&list=UL
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nc1iY08HU7w&feature=channel&list=UL
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mWy9awGv6so&feature=channel&list=UL

Last edited:
Hey Marian, welcome to the site from the Motor City! If it is stainless, 300rag has got you covered.
I have a lot of chrome plated trim in my `67 Imperial and Never Dull cleans it like new.
Show us what you got!
BTW, I like that you know what we're thinking!

More rust marks than scratches. I first used nevrdull...didn't work. Then used metal polish cream by blue magic with polishing wheel. Cleaned it up some but rough to the feel with less noticeable marks. Thanks for responding!