Donny's 1970 300

Donny

Reaction score
Ok, looks like I am the first poster to this new forum in this section of Members Restorations! Cool!! :eusa_clap: :upside down:

Now, could the Admins move my same-named thread over on B Bodies over here?

The current 'thoughts' I have for the 300 is the flex in the frame/chassis. It's a uni-body car, similar rear frame rails to our B Body cars, but the K member/front frame rails on this car is one piece, bolted on via 4 large bolts mounted in rubber -- to give it that floating feeling cars of this era had, and people desired. The thing that bothers me is the said flex of the car. When I put the car on my lift and raise it, the front top of the fenders opens up a mm or so, and the bottom closes the same distance reflecting the flexing of the car!

So, I've been thinking, and I don't think there is anything out there; frame connectors for C body cars! I'm studying it, and may mock up some, and, if they pass my own critical mass testing (I'm my own worst critic) I may just license them, and put the word out there! However, making them fit looks like a task; I'd want to keep the removability of the front K member on this C body cars, doing so looks like it's a challenge vs over on our B Body cars.

When I first heard about the rubber bushings after I got my Polara convertible 9 years ago I was suprised because the sub frame on convertible Polaras was attached by the factory to the body using nothing more than heavy steel shim washers. This may be the simplist solution.

Sounds like a good plan. I wonder if you could actually build them so the front part goes between the sub frame and body. That way you could still remove the sub, and still have some extra support.

Also, not sure that threads can be moved from one site to another. I'll ask Joey for ya.