Dont wanna burn up my car

Rosco

Reaction score
I've been seeing off and on about an inherent problem with how the charging system runs too much current through the ammeter under certain conditions leading to a potential fire.
I followed a link to "Nacho's' "Some considerations about the charging and wiring upgrade..."
Wow. Lllllloooooooonnnnngggggg!! OMG. Too, so many typos, hard to follow.
Could someone dumb in down for me? Question is, can I keep the ammeter functioning (I like it and have a long history of staring at it while I'm cruising at night and tapping the gas to get the needle above the charge line) and still be able to save the car from potentially burning up? I have a '68 Fury ll w/ a 318, no A/C.
Is the idea to replace or bypass the original wiring to the ammeter with bigger gauge wires?
My major issue is driving at night with the headlights and heater going at low speed and the ammeter shows the car is discharging. I feel it the next morning when I go to start the car and it barely has enough juice to start. Too, headlights are too dim at low speeds. I often drive a dirt road with surprise cows all over the place so got to go slowish.
I know there's been a LOT of posts about this problem and I apologize for my blatant laziness. I'm doing a sort of restoration and don't want to get through it all only to have the car catch on fire. And I'll admit I don't fully understand the diagrams and some of the terminology.

Underhood Ammeter Bypass

@c-barge simplified it in this thread. The first few posts are all you really need. But your Amp gauge will not function correctly, so it's recommended to install an aftermarket volt gauge.

My car wouldn't start, the ammeter is hanging on for dear life, so I did this and BAM! the car fired up.

Read through the thread and get your car set up.