Engine dies after a minute

440Chauncey

Reaction score
I have a pretty annoying issue with my 68 New yorker. Its a stock 440 with a proform electronic ignition. Ive been running the car for two years with some issues. Recently I bought a reproduction carb and installed it and noticed my engine shuts off after a few minutes. I dont know if its a carb problem because I had the throttle half open and the car still shuts off and wouldn't start after. Then after letting it sit for a while it would start up and do the same thing. Im just trying to debate if its the carb or electrical problem. My wire harness isn't that pretty and in some spots the insulation is bubbled and burned. I have access to a good harness if it would be worth the swap. Im just wondering if someone else had this issue, if it could even be my aftermarket ecu. Like I said it just shuts off with no hesitation and wont start after awhile.

Thanks

Since it started when you installed the new carb, I'd say that's the first place to look.

A shot in the dark about that would be the float level or the float valve.

It definitely has fuel, the inline filter is full and the bowls and accelerator pump are squirting. I should've mentioned above that it has a quick cutout or two before it actually shuts off. Its like the engines having a hiccup. It has a new ignition as stated above along with new ballast, volt reg, battery and alternator.

Agree with 65sporty. You need both so find out which one is missing. I had a '74 Cuda with a very similar issue....it was a bad coil. Heated up, killed the motor. Cooled down, started right up. Easy check if you have a known good coil laying around.