Good day, new member here... 1st time posting a pic, hope it works...

62newportnewbie

Reaction score
WIN_20220215_07_36_32_Pro.jpg

Not sure if i have this in the correct forum... The car is a 62 Chrysler Newport... Not running yet, the interior is out, but seems to be a pretty nice car... I am new to Chrysler's, mostly had chevies growing up... But i always admired the 50's - 60's Mopars, so i feel very lucky to have found this car...

Anyway, thought i would say hello, not good at forums and pics, but wanted to post that pic to show i was real ha..

10 below up here, so car not leaving garage for a while yet...

Thank you - One with the hood down, and one with it's garage mate a 65 Buick Wildcat... will i get banned for posting the buick pic? You guys should cut me a little slack since i finally wised up enough to buy a Chrysler right...

WIN_20220215_08_48_24_Pro.jpg

WIN_20220215_08_46_44_Pro.jpg

Last edited:
Welcome! Since you are a Chevy man, one word of caution from a guy who owned a '62 New Yorker: don't be shocked by the cost and availability of parts! While Chevy built over 700,000 Impalas in '62 alone, Chrysler's ENTIRE 1962 production was less than 130,000. That's Newport, 300, 300H, and New Yorkers combined. The u-joints alone are over 400 bucks! These are beautiful cars, but the sticker shock can be harsh. Be warned, adn be patient if you are looking for things. At least today the brake drums are being remanned. When I had mine that wasn't the case and I paid $350 for two NOS front drums.

So, good luck, have fun, and be blessed!

And now, tell us about your Newpie! 361, 383, 413?? AC? Tell us.

Thank you all for the feedback... Let's see...