How to remove trunk lock cylinder on a'68 Chrysler 300

CitronPresse

Reaction score
Hi guys!
I'm a young beginner in Mopar world, I've bought last week a 1968 Chrysler 300, I have a lot of work on it and I'm gonna do a more complete presenting thread soon (I'm on my mobile now) but I would ask you this answer as soon as possible: how to remove the trunk lock cylinder? My lock does'nt works so I've opened the trunk by inside (just unscrewed the two bolts on the ketch) but now I must remove the lock to repair it or bring it to the locksmith and it seems really strangely made...

Sorry for my broken english I'm from
Quebec (like you'll see in my presentation probably this evening) and I'm really not so good in english ahah! :s

Thanks a lot if someone can explain me the better way to remove my cylinder, I'm gonna try to do this this afternoon :)
Cheers
Loïc

Welcome to the Forum!

There is a U shaped clip on the inside of your trunklid, like you see on the lower right of the picture. You have to pull that off sideways with a screw driver or a pair of pliers and the lock should slide right out.

Chrysler-Dodge-Plymouth-Ignition-Door-Trunk-Lock-Kit.jpg

Chrysler-Dodge-Plymouth-Ignition-Door-Trunk-Lock-Kit.jpg

Nice thank you guys for that quick answer! :p
I see the clip, but when I try to slide it down it "bumps" on the edge of trunk door, there is a "trapdoor" that seems to be there to let getting out the clip but this "trapdoor" seems to be welded and riveted (is it a word in english? lol)
Maybe if I turn the clip on itself and slide it sideways it can works?
I was thinking it would be easier to just remove a lock cylinder that's a quick operation habitually on other cars ahahah
I don't know if I explain myself clearly, if not, don't hesitate to ask some precisions, and I'll post some pictures this afternoon maybe it'll be better :)

anyway thanks alot! :)
Loïc

Welcome aboard to FCBO.