Hypothetical Question

BamaFan

Reaction score
I have a Chrysler 300 with the standard 350 hp 440 and one of my favorite engines is the 440 six-pack. I'm sure there are more differences between the base 440 and the six-pack than just two extra barrels, but what would happen if I decided to "bolt on" a six pack. I'd be more than doubling the amount of fuel (currently is a 600 or 650 cfm Edelbrock and I believe the six pack ran two 500s and a 350 in the middle). Making no other mods, how would it run, or would it? What else would be needed to squeeze out those extra 40 horses?

Asking for a friend ;)

OK, I'm no expert, but here's my 2 cents: If you make no other changes to the engine, you will be wasting your time and money and will probably be unhappy with the results. Even going from a 650 to a 750 cfm carb will cause problems if you don't make other changes. Reason being, you are at least doubling the area of the carb throats, but not doing anything to help the engine suck in twice the amount of air. Therefore, slow air velocity in the carbs, and bad running engine. To squeeze out an extra 40 horses I'm guessing you would probably need a different cam first and foremost, dual exhaust, headers, electronic ignition or dual points, maybe different heads. Furthermore, there are better ways to get the extra 40 horsepower than going to a six pack setup. I always thought that was kind of gimmicky and unnecessarily complicated. Interesting questions. I would love to hear more opinions on this!

An interesting question and I'm sure there is plenty of technical expertise here to help you out. I could be wrong but the 6 pack motors likely had a different cam, dual exhaust and maybe bit more compression. You didn't mention the year of your 300 but it likely already has a forged crank.