I want to do metal repair, how do I get started.

Zymurgy

Old Man with a Hat
FCBO Gold Member
Reaction score
I have always wanted to do every aspect of a car restoration. The one thing I have never attempted was cutting out bad metal and welding in new. I am a decent MIG welder and have access to one. I realize it is a whole different animal, spot welding in thin gauge metal than welding some 1/4 in angle iron.

I was planning on getting some metal to practice on. Should I just buy some scrape from a junk yard? Are there any good books or DVDs to get me started? I have watched several you-tube videos so I basically know what I am getting myself into.

My goal is to repair the back fenders on my '66 300. It is nice and straight and the rust is not too consuming, but I haven't taken a sander to it yet to find out for sure.

Here is the driver side and the passenger side is a little worse.

Fender rust.jpg

Fender rust.jpg

Last edited:
Not to be a smart *** but before you get started you must stop calling them rear fenders and learn to refer to them as quarter panels.

Not to be a smart *** but before you get started you must stop calling them rear fenders and learn to refer to them as quarter panels.

So does that mean when I look at the you-tube videos, steer away from the guys that refer to them as rear fenders because they are about as green as me on body repair? My turn to be a smart *** I have a British car and they refer to them as the rear wing, but I also have a boot, bonnet, and wind screen on my MGB.

I am not trying to be a smart ***...... There are cars that have rear fenders....., like a mdel A or a 48 Chrysler. Most everything pre 55 probaly had a rear fender.

When I hear guys call the quarter a fender I wince.

I am not trying to be a smart ***...... There are cars that have rear fenders....., like a mdel A or a 48 Chrysler. Most everything pre 55 probaly had a rear fender.

When I hear guys call the quarter a fender I wince.