Long winded but I had to say it

polara71

Old Man with a Hat
FCBO Gold Member
Reaction score
44 years ago in Early January 1970 a lady and her husband walked into their local Dodge Dealer to order a 1970 Dodge Polara convertible. He picked out the particulars but she picked out the color, after all , it was her car. A convertible girl by nature they traded in her early 60s convertible, all because they had heard this was to be the last year for the full size Dodge in a rag top offering.
A hair dresser by trade she hardly left the house and kept her convertible in this garage, in this bay with pride.

IMG_9981.jpg

The car was ordered with a 383-2 engine but it was ordered with a towing package. After all this lady in her forties enjoyed water skiing and this car would tow their boat when needed.

187134 1971.jpg

For the next several years they used the car sparingly and around 1989 it was stored in their lake house garage .

IMG_9987.jpgIMG_9988.jpg

Until 2004 when they decided to sell it because they just didnt use it. The 47,000 miles on the odometer was hardly enough for her but she reluctantly sold the car anyway. They reached out to their local Chrysler dealer who they considered a friend and he paid them the paltry sum of $1,600.00 for her prized car. He quickly flips it to an antique dealer who puts the car in the Carlisle car corral for all to see.

187134 2004  right front.jpg

Thats where I come in. ...... skip the particulars I pay $10,500. for my dream car and get home with the title still with the original owners name on it. I call information but what are the odds they still live in the same house after 34 years? Well as it turns out, no one leaves the hills of Pennsylvania and theve been there since 1952.
I call and she is ecstatic, elated to hear about her convertible and that it is doing well. We talked about the buying and selling of the car, how she cried for three days after selling it and hoped one day to see it again...