Looking for advice + id these rims

MoPar~Man

FCBO Gold Member
Reaction score
When it comes to wheels I have zero knowledge or familiarity with anything that isin't a plain steel wheel.

I'm told that these are 14" x 5.5. What are they, and would they have been a factory or dealer option for a '67 Monaco?

wheels.jpg

I can't use anything with more than I think 4.5" backspace / offset. Where are the holes for the lugs? Do those covers come off? Can I put my regular hubcaps on those?

Also, what would be a "good' price for that set?

On the inner lowest section of the rim itself, there should be some stampings as to size (as 14x5JK or similar) plus the Chrylser Pentastar stamp IF they came on a car from the factory. Ford had some very similar wheels, with the Ford Oval stamp. IF they were aftermarket from Motor Wheel, then no OEM stampings in addition to the size stamp. Might be a date stamp, too?

The center domes do some off from the rear. A retainer, a "screw", and the dome.

According to the Dodge dealership book, "Wheel Covers" were standard, "Deluxe Wheel Covers" and "Simulated Mag wheel covers (14" tires req.)" were optional. Also optional were "Chrome plated steel road wheels (N/A w/disk brakes)"

Here's what's stamped on the rims in question:

rims.jpg

I have some 14" x 5 rims (plain steel rims) with that same symbol or trade mark (what is that?) that I'm pretty sure were on my '73 Satellite but maybe that trade mark by itself doesn't make it a MoPar rim?

As best I can grab from the dealership book, these are the optional wheel covers and rims:

rim-1.jpg
rim-2.jpg
rim-3.jpg

Last edited:
There's a '67 Coronet for sale on Haggerty with these wheels:

rim-4.jpg

Seems to be the same type of rim? Were these 1967 only? If this was available on a Coronet would they also have been available on a Monaco / Polara?

Would the fender tag indicate the type of rim?

Last edited:
Those are Magnum 500 wheels, of course.