Lost Reverse, 68 Newport still fighting me.

WOT440

Reaction score
Like the title says. I took my Newport for a cruze this morning. Put on around thirty miles or so. Stopped to take a few pictures. Rolled past the spot I intended to park, when shifted to reverse to back it up a bit .... nothing. Still had forward luckily, so I drove it home. Checked the fluid and checked for leaks. No leaks and the fluid level is exactly where it should be. This is a rebuilt 727 from Advance Auto with less than 500 miles on it. Unfortunately, it was purchased by the PO around ten years ago, so no warranty for me. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

IMG_20221022_081657.jpg

Now, after cooling down a bit, it will go into reverse and moves, but it slips. Could it need a band adjustment?
Possible it wasn't set up correctly when it was rebuilt? I have no experience working on transmissions other than changing fluid and filters.

Last edited:
Now, after cooling down a bit, it will go into reverse and move, but it slips. Could it need a band adjustment?
I have no experience working on transmissions other than changing fluid and filters.
That eliminates the broken band theory.

The low-reverse band is used in R but also in 1 (not breakaway in D). So if the band is broken or out of adjustment you must notice this also in 1. Another problem is a too low line pressure, in R the line pressure is 2.5 more than in forward. So if ther's a problem in the front pump (or regulator valve) you'll feel it first in R.