MRE 2019

1978 NYB

Warfighter
Legendary Member
Reaction score
I never ate anything this good when I was a Soldier!

FB_IMG_1549672420766.jpg

Believe me C-rats were a lot better than T-rats or MRE's.

Believe me C-rats were a lot better than T-rats or MRE's.

They also provided some humor. We had one idiot who decided he needed warm Lima beans and put his can on the exhaust manifold of Jeep which had been left running because they were monitoring the radio.. He did not vent it first so the can blew up and got Lima beans all over the engine compartment. PLT SGT had seen it too many times before and put the guy to work with a tooth brush cleaning up the mess he made. A lot of the C-Rats we got in '71 still had Lucky Strike Greens in them, so they were probably Korean War Vintage.

Dave

I never ate anything this good when I was a Soldier!

View attachment 258122
Stocking the bunker, big guy? :lol:

No, one of former comrades sent it to me.

Soldiers use to complain about C-rations ( I thought they were pretty good) then we had T-Rations and 1st Gen MRE's which were truly horrible. Spaghetti or beans with FN cinnamon. Who TF puts cinnamon in spaghetti or beans????

MRE's evolved in to decent meals during the last decade or so I've been told. I haven't eaten any MRE's since my return from Iraq. I have had many opportunities to eat them while working at the Army Test Center after I retired from the Army...but I declined. I can still buy MRE's at the Commissary on post.