N8-96XJ's '65 Fury III build

N8-96XJ

Reaction score
Well... Never done a build thread before. So here goes. I picked up this 65 Fury III a couple months ago. 4 barrel 383. It's been sitting for two years. The guy i bought it from was going to get around to fixing it up but i talked him out of it! We hooked a battery to it and ran some gas thru it and she turned over and sounded healthy. The car had new two and a half exhaust from the manifolds back with Flowmasters. It seemed to be mostly all there and fairly solid. I knew i would be getting into quarter panel repair. And also knew of a transmission problem. No first or reverse... Here she is the day i got her. Lincoln spokes up front and all!

005.jpg

So with help from, and special thanks to my friend David, work has begun. I picked up some used tires to get her rolling around. Painted a set of 15" steelies Inferno Red. My buddy rebuilt the carb (i'm very new to older cars by the way). And we got her idling and running very smoothly. Runs like a sewing machine ha ha! I am very pleased with my 383. We investigated the transmission and found it to be extermely low on fluid. Hoping my lucky streak would continue we topped it off and got it moving, sort of... Maybe the bands just needed adjusted? Pulled the pan and WOW. What a mess. The fluid? was white? and had the consistency of maple syrup? I've never seen anything like it! It also smelled like gear oil? So... Well there's your problem right there! Guess the bands have been adjusted to their limit and well beyond!

006.jpg