Painting Air Cleaner

NewportTM

Reaction score
IMG_0087.jpgIMG_0088.jpgIMG_0089.jpg
I am wanting to clean up and paint the air cleaner on my 66 Newport. Any suggestions as to what brand of paint has worked best for you? Also did you use gloss, semi-gloss or flat?
Thanks in advance for any help.

IMG_0087.jpg

IMG_0088.jpg

IMG_0089.jpg

I'm having mine power coated. I'm still waiting to get it back. I am also using a 2 stage urethane on other black items. The clear coat with the hardener will give me extra protection from gas or brake fluid. Those fluids will take the top coat right off. You shouldn't have to worry about that with the air cleaner.

I am a painter so I go a little over kill on the painting. I have a lot of clear left over from another job, so all the paint I'm been buying is 2 stage.:toothy10:

Last edited:
I'm having mine power coated. I'm still waiting to get it back. I am also using a 2 stage urethane on other black items. The clear coat with the hardener will give me extra protection from gas or brake fluid. Those fluids will take the top coat right off. You shouldn't have to worry about that with the air cleaner.

I am a painter so I go a little over kill on the painting. I have a lot of clear left over from another job, so all the paint I'm been buying is 2 stage.:toothy10:

As in car painting or something else?

I used Duplicolor Engine Enamel...semi-gloss black. No need to spend a million bucks unless you got it laying around.

As in car painting or something else?

I am a house painter but I have sprayed lacquer and paint over woodwork for 25 years so I have all the equipment the shop space. I have only sprayed a half dozen cars/work vans over the years and only for myself.

Wheres that battery cable going?

The earlier cars the battery cable went under the master and then on the later cars it went over.

Look mine over good. What do I need to correct? I know the hose clamps have to go...lol

Ok that was my 0.5