Properly tuning my 383 4V

66MonacoWagon

Reaction score
As I sit in front of my computer, about to click "buy" on a potential parts order, I thought it might be best to solicit the group for advice.

I have a 66 Dodge Monaco with the 383 4V, and I had changed to the Edelbrock 1406 carb last year. Original motor with no major work (to my knowledge) and 64K miles on it. The carb really helped with my choke and mixture issues. I still have a lingering miss at idle (I think I can feel it on the road as well) and want to start investigating.

I was going to start with a general tune-up. New wires, cap, condenser, possibly spark plugs. Last season I had decided maybe I should just switch to an electronic ignition, which may be the route to go. I'm no mechanic, and beyond a timing light, an old-school Sears engine analyzer and the internet to guide me I'll be doing this myself.

So, what am I asking? I want to make sure that I don't go and buy anything that will be a waste, so IF my end result may be the electronic ignition, are there things such as spark plugs, wires and distributor cap that I should buy while I assess the stock system that I won't end up buying again if I switch to electronic. I'd hate to buy the wrong wires just to have to upgrade.

Anyone that can point me to a step-by-step guide as I move forward will help as well. I guess one of the other options could be to just move forward with an electronic ignition now and not mess with a general procedural diagnosis. If that's the case, then I need advice on the most useful electronic system.

I realize that there are many discussions on here related to tune-ups, electronic ignitions, etc. I apologize if much of this is redundant.

Thanks!
Joe in Illinois