Quickfuel carb tuning

MEV

Reaction score
Any quickfuel carb Jetting guru's on here? I finally got around to installing an 02 sensor in my 505/512 stroker and got some readings at various loads. I am not a jetting expert and could use a second pair or 2 of eyes on my numbers and jetting choices.

Jets will get you close. Air bleeds since you have easy changable ones will bring the fine tune in.
Best way to get it very spot on is to split carb in half, disconnect the secondaries and wire shut. Once the front side is right reconnect the secondaries and make them compliment the front side.

Other than the very rich condition, the carb is very good as is. It starts, idles, accelerates ferociously, and it makes good power as several of you have seen from my timeslips and videos. It is a STREET DRIVEN car.

Idle @800 RPM AFR 12.9

Steady state cruise at 35mph @ 2050 RPM AFR 10.6
Steady state cruise at 55mph @ 2500 RPM AFR 10.2-10.4
Steady state cruise at 65mph @ 2900 RPM AFR 10.3-10.5

Light acceleration, medium load AFR 10.2-10.5

WOT top gear AFR 12.9-13.4

The stock jet card is as follows.
Primary main jet 78
Secondary Jet 86
Idle air bleed 70/70
Hi speed bleed 28/28
Pri Nozzle 33
Sec Nozzle 35
Needle and seat 120
Power valve 6.5

a while ago i talked to quickfuel (before holley bought them) and they told me to change the high speed bleed, to lean it out some, i cannot remember what jets they told me to run, but i installed them.

I'm running a SS750. Primaries are 78's and secondaries are 84's.

In order to learn the "high speed" mixture, increase the size of the existing air bleeds for that circuit. Going smaller just makes it richer. Completely plugged = "full rich".

In general, set the primary main jet size for normal road cruising. Use the air bleeds to fine tune that circuit. Use the power valve for additional "WOT" fuel, rather than a larger main jet size, when possible. To me, that's just "good carb tuning", no matter what the carb might be.