Rebuilding the entire front end.

Zymurgy

Old Man with a Hat
FCBO Gold Member
Reaction score
Ok this is more unchartered waters for me. Everything needs replaced in the front end of my '66 300. First is there a good Mopar rebuild book on this or a good how to on-line link? I have never worked on a torsion suspension before.

Is there a one stop materials place for everything? I see some of the guys here have used PST. I also have the anti-sway bar bushings too. I am having Steer and Gear rebuild my Pitman arm and I replaced the shocks last year. I basically need everything else.

Is there a one stop materials place for everything? I see some of the guys here have used PST. I also have the anti-sway bar bushings too. I am having Steer and Gear rebuild my Pitman arm and I replaced the shocks last year. I basically need everything else.
Mostly Advance Auto to get the Moog U.S.A. stuff.
Several pcs. you'll have to source fromr different vendors. The only thing you will not find are the Torsion Bar boots if your T-bars are over 1.030". Nothing out there will slide over them correctly. Search for the thread (by Bill Grissom I think??) where you use strut boots instead. Wish i had done that.

And hopefully this helps:
http://www.forcbodiesonly.com/mopar...10294-74-Fury-steering-and-suspension-rebuild
Specialty tools needed:
Torsion bar tool. Don't let everyone tell you how to make a cheap home built Mickey Mouse one. Not worth it.
index.php

Upper ball joint socket. Don't get the smaller one.
$(KGrHqV,!ocFJkTmsj82BSfpI!zZcw~~60_1.JPG

Ball joint spreader. The most important tool you can have.
2hxavxk.jpg

3/4" drive socket set
3' heavy iron pipe.

Parts:
two threaded upper ball joints
two lower press-in ball joints
Two lower C-arm bushings
two pairs of upper C-arm bushings
two C-body (1.00+") torsion bar boots
two strut bushings
one set of stabilizer bushings
two upper C-arm bump stops
two lower C-arm bump stops
Two shock absorbers
one idler arm
one pitman arm