Renewing Vinyl

Verse

Reaction score
For dash pads and door panels, one option to make them look almost new is to use vinyl dye. Another though is to rub down with glycerin. I used to work in the vinyl business, and this was suggested by a company scientist. It will put flexibility back in the vinyl.
Glycerin can be found in the drug store. It is used on burns.
Can you see the difference?

IMG_1160.JPG
IMG_1158.JPG
IMG_1159.JPG

Last edited:
I'm thinking of all options to fix this piece...trying to keep it original...but, want to give it that clean look.
20190413_083300.jpg

Interesting with the Glycerin, never heard of that. I would guess the dash pad too then? I was warned years ago not to use Armor All because it actually dried up vinyl. Is that true?

Interesting with the Glycerin, never heard of that. I would guess the dash pad too then? I was warned years ago not to use Armor All because it actually dried up vinyl. Is tht true?

Yep. Armor all turns dashpads rock hard then they split. One thing I was told on the big 69 thru 70’s dash was remove the screws from the speaker grills and tack them down with rtv. This is a Big problem with e bodies.

The main thing with ArmorAll was its UV light ray protection, which can also cause the various "oils" in rubbers and such to "dry out" from exposure.

I heard the same thing about using AA on fabric items. But the one thing about AA is that it washes off of harder surfaces or softer surfaces where it didn't soak in.

I came to like "Son of a Gun" better for its more natural sheen.

CBODY67

Is that why the 69 jury's dash pad always cracked in the same place starting near the speaker area? They are just too tight?

When all "dashes" were usually made of metal, painted with "suade texture" paint, no big issues. Just don't rub or wax them.