Sell or Restore 1960 New Yorker 4DR Sedan?

1960NewYorker413

Reaction score
Hi, my name is Christian and I am brand new to this site. I need some help and, after spending some time on this site, I knew this was the place to go. You all seem very knowledgeable and forthright, and I hope you won't mind taking a minute or two to share your thoughts.

I recently inherited a 1960 Chrysler New Yorker Sedan from my brother, who bought it for very little and was just starting to work on it before he passed. The car is 1/2 way across the country, and I have to make a decision on whether to restore it or sell it. Sure, I'd like to finish a project that my brother started and restore it, but I'm on a budget, have to move the car across the country, rent a shop to work on it, etc. etc. Plus, I have zero experience doing any of this and am very new to wrenching. On the bright side, I do have a close friend who used to be a mechanic and is very talented in that regard. He is willing to help me work through the restoration if I decide to go through with it.

That all said, I was wondering what some of your thoughts are as far as (1) how much time will it take to get the car to daily driver status and (2) probable cost.

In the meantime, the car seems very straight, chrome is in great condition, engine runs smooth, haven't tried the tranny beyond neutral and reverse (to go about 3 feet), and the interior will need some work. There is some surface rust, and there is some rust-through in the driver's floor pan and above each of the headlights.

I guess that's it for now. I look forward to your comments. Thanks for taking the time to read this.

SDC11955.jpgSDC11963.jpgSDC11962.jpgSDC11961.jpgSDC11960.jpgSDC11959.jpgSDC11958.jpgSDC11957.jpgSDC11956.jpgSDC11964.jpg

SDC11955.jpg

SDC11956.jpg

SDC11957.jpg

SDC11958.jpg

SDC11959.jpg

SDC11960.jpg

SDC11961.jpg

SDC11962.jpg

SDC11963.jpg

SDC11964.jpg

Last edited: