Seperating tranny from engine

Engine, Transmission & Driveline

  1. Bayoulee

    Bayoulee Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Location:
    Nevada mo
    ive never separated an auto from an engine and cant get to come free. Got all the bolts and its about an inch gao, but wont come free and didnt want to force anything. Am i missing something? Thanks for the help-
    Its a 727/383.
     
  2. 65sporty

    65sporty Senior Member

    My Photo Garage
    Messages:
    3,572
    Likes Received:
    714
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Marlette,Mi
    If all the bolts are out, even starter bolts. It is more than likely stuck on the dowel pins. You may have to use a pry bar to get it apart. If you have a inch gap put a pry bar in there and pry it apart. If you don't have a gap you will need to drive a screwdriver or something similar in between the engine and trans to open the gap and then put in a pry bar. Good luck
     
  3. commando1

    commando1 Old Man with a Hat

    Messages:
    23,600
    Likes Received:
    11,426
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Location:
    Fumbuck County - Sebring, Florida
    Are we forgetting the flex plate?
     
    • Agree Agree x 6
    • Like Like x 2
    • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
  4. MEV

    MEV New Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    Location:
    WA
    Ditto. The torque converter bolts need to be out also.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  5. Bayoulee

    Bayoulee Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Location:
    Nevada mo
    Not
     
  6. cantflip

    cantflip Old Man with a Hat

    Messages:
    6,152
    Likes Received:
    2,118
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
  7. commando1

    commando1 Old Man with a Hat

    Messages:
    23,600
    Likes Received:
    11,426
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Location:
    Fumbuck County - Sebring, Florida
    What....
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. Ripinator

    Ripinator Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    1,004
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Location:
    Germantown, MD
    And when you do remove the flex plate bolts, make sure you put an index mark on the plate and torque converter, so you won't have a hassle when re-installing the engine to the transmission. The flex plate bolts to the converter only one way.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Ripinator

    Ripinator Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    1,004
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Location:
    Germantown, MD
    Please elaborate. . .
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. 70bigblockdodge

    70bigblockdodge Old Man with a Hat

    Messages:
    8,617
    Likes Received:
    2,927
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Location:
    Avonmore Pa.
    You know how to take the fun out of everything.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
  11. Bayoulee

    Bayoulee Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Location:
    Nevada mo
    is t
     
  12. Bayoulee

    Bayoulee Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Location:
    Nevada mo
    Or the flex plate. Just not familiar with an automatic transmission. I am considering putting in a stall converter before putting it back together.
     
  13. Bayoulee

    Bayoulee Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Location:
    Nevada mo
    Sorry I meant to say "I'm not sure where the torque converter bolts are located on"
     
  14. 65sporty

    65sporty Senior Member

    My Photo Garage
    Messages:
    3,572
    Likes Received:
    714
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Marlette,Mi
    When you remove the dust shield you will see the flex plate and torque converter.
    Something like this

    th?id=OIP.smWLHWjxEA8AZWu_5S7d7AFNC7&pid=15.jpg

    Remove the 4 blots holding the converter to the flexplate, converter stays with the trans, flexplate is bolted to engine crank.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  15. Bayoulee

    Bayoulee Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Location:
    Nevada mo
    Ok thanks!
     
  16. Bayoulee

    Bayoulee Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Location:
    Nevada mo
    Got it to slide out a little further. I take it the star shaped piece is the flexplate?

    image.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. 67Monaco

    67Monaco Senior Member

    My Photo Garage
    Messages:
    3,996
    Likes Received:
    1,544
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Location:
    Punta Gorda FL
    Yep. . Just keep pulling it'll come.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  18. Bayoulee

    Bayoulee Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Location:
    Nevada mo
    But do i need to unbolt torque from flex before i pull anymore?
     
  19. 68Nwprt

    68Nwprt Senior Member

    My Photo Garage
    Messages:
    1,105
    Likes Received:
    379
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Location:
    Weeki Wachee,FL
    Yes, I would.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. commando1

    commando1 Old Man with a Hat

    Messages:
    23,600
    Likes Received:
    11,426
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Location:
    Fumbuck County - Sebring, Florida
    PicsArt_08-13-04.16.12.jpg The flex plate
     
    • Agree Agree x 1