Shift selector on my 1965 Chrysler 300

65chrys300

Reaction score
Shift selector on my 1965 Chrysler 300 (pics added)

So I recently purchased my first classic Mopar and had a question...

My column shifter seems to be off and I can't find reverse sometimes??

When the car is cold I can find reverse but it makes this mechanical clicking type sound when I try to use it. When the car is hot it's damn near impossible to find reverse. I tried adjusting the cable under the steering column but that did not seem to help. Before the adjustment my car would go into first but the indicator would show that I'm in 2nd. When I'm in drive it's right at the beginning of the N for neutral. My reverse, when it works, seems to engage at the K in Park.

Can anybody chime in and let me know what direction I need to go in? I'm new to this hobby and could use some advice..

Last edited:
Welcome!

:worthless_thread:

It sounds like your Gearshift Cable or your Kickdown Linkage is/are out of adjustment. Here are the pages from the FSM describing both adjustments:

Gearshift Adjustment:
Tranny-1.jpg

Kickdown Linkage Adjustment:
ThrottleandKickdownAdjustment.jpg

I've also got a '65 300 ('vert). I've got a bunch of pics profiling the restoration here: http://www.forcbodiesonly.com/mopar-forum/showthread.php?t=212

If you plan on keeping this car for a while I highly recommend getting yourself a Factory Service Manual. They are fairly inexpensive and can be found on eBay.

Hello Rexus, thank you for the reply.

Is there a setting that I need to enable on this forum to see pictures/links? The Gearshift adjustment and Kickdown Linkage look don't show anything. When I click the link to view your post it looks blank??

I actually purchased a manual from Faxon last week, I'm just waiting for it to come in:)

I'll post up pictures later when I get home...