Stalling on incline. Why?

Joseph James

Reaction score
If I stop on a steep incline nose down the car will stall. Otherwise it is driving fine and I drive it everyday. Yesterday, it almost caused a dangerous situation but started right back up.

383 with a 2 barrel BBD and 727 transmission.

G'Day,
Offered my two cents on a similar sort of Post a few days ago.
May have nothing to do with your situation.
The 383 2 barrel carbies have an air filter set up whereby when the filter is tightened down it pulls the top plate away from the body of the carby.
As you may imagine over forty or fifty years this distorts the top plate
I'm thinking that on a Steep Slope enough fuel may be leaking into the Throats to flood the motor.
When you restart the fuel is flushed through & the car starts.
I'm only an old Bush Mechanic but, If all else fails, check the Top plate for "Trueness" by using a sheet of glass & sandpaper.
This will show any distortion.
Hope this Helps.
Tony.M

When it starts back up, does it restart easily, need a bit more "crank time", and/or does it smell of gasoline and restart with a cloud of black smoke from the exhaust pipe? When this happens, to confirm, which end of the vehicle is higher than the other one? What fuel level is in the fuel tank? Are these easy stops or otherwise? From what speed?

As the jsts in the BBD are more toward the center of the carb, it would be hard for a "nose-down" attitude to uncover them. As the BBDS are not very prone for the air horn to warp upward from over-torque of the air cleaner wing nut (as the Stromberg WWC and Hollley 2210/2245 2bbls are), I feel safe we can presume the gasket between the carb body and air horn (where the rear of the float bowl seals, separatring it from the venturi area) is working as it should.

Any vacuum leaks when the brake booster is activated? Hissing? Engine missing or running unsteadily?