Tag questions

ilovecbodies

Reaction score
So I am looking at a 1968 chrysler 300 very low option car. I am still pretty new at decoding the fender tag, and to make sure that it's a numbers matching car. If one of you decoders could help me/explain the codes. I have looked here and on other sites and still unsure. Here are the pics of the vin,fender tag and one engine tag. Thanks

IMG_1722.jpg

Screenshot_20210208-130010_Messages.jpg

Screenshot_20210208-125954_Messages.jpg

Thanks alot. You make it so easy. Appreciate you.
That website I linked had all kind of information, but they are redoing their website, and you can't access some of it right now. Tons of info for you.

"Numbers Matching" on a Mopar is a very specific thing, unlike many other makes. What it means is not that the engine is "date coded" correctly, but that the last 6 numbers of the VIN are stamped on the engine and the transmission. If those numbers are different, like the ones on the engine in my car, it is not numbers matching. (My transmission is original.) Your first picture is not the right one to look at for this clarification.

But, I must say, I am confused by the following two pictures you posted. The Fender Tag should also match the VIN. In what you've posted they don't. 252856 is not the same as 253993. If these are from the same car there is a problem.

"Numbers Matching" on a Mopar is a very specific thing, unlike many other makes. What it means is not that the engine is "date coded" correctly, but that the last 6 numbers of the VIN are stamped on the engine and the transmission. If those numbers are different, like the ones on the engine in my car, it is not numbers matching. (My transmission is original.) Your first picture is not the right one to look at for this clarification.