temp/fuel gauge voltage limiter

John Reddie

Member
Joined
May 9, 2017
Messages
67
Reaction score
61
Location
MA
The other day I had my '67 Fury out for a drive and noticed both of theses gauges were pegged all the way up. Before I got home the temp went back as far as it could (almost out of sight) which leads me to believe that gauge it is done for. I have disconnected both from their sending units and have 2 extra gauges in my stash. Has anyone here dealt with faulty voltage limiters and can I still find new ones? I have two spares from saved clusters which test out okay but where it is time consuming to change one, maybe a new limiter would be best. Can new limiter capacitors be purchased as well? Thanks as always for any info here.
John
 

66/440

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2013
Messages
775
Reaction score
449
Location
TEXAS
@safeforward look recently posted this:
One other common problem that our cars have is very old voltage limiters but I note that electronic replacement ones are now available from companies such as Herbs Parts which is owned by AMS Obsolete
 

1970FuryConv

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2014
Messages
3,643
Reaction score
3,817
Location
Richmond, VA
The other day I had my '67 Fury out for a drive and noticed both of theses gauges were pegged all the way up. Before I got home the temp went back as far as it could (almost out of sight) which leads me to believe that gauge it is done for. I have disconnected both from their sending units and have 2 extra gauges in my stash. Has anyone here dealt with faulty voltage limiters and can I still find new ones? I have two spares from saved clusters which test out okay but where it is time consuming to change one, maybe a new limiter would be best. Can new limiter capacitors be purchased as well? Thanks as always for any info here.
John
I'd use the old one that tests OK. Sometimes, older is better.
 

CBODY67

Old Man with a Hat
Joined
Mar 27, 2011
Messages
7,255
Reaction score
4,432
Wasn't there a transistorized version that came in FMJ cars?
 

John Reddie

Member
Joined
May 9, 2017
Messages
67
Reaction score
61
Location
MA
Thanks for the helpful info. Can a points distributor capacitor be used here or is the voltage limiter restricted to a certain type. I haven't been able to find any of these listed for a Mopar limiter.
 

cbarge

World Famous Barge in a Budget
FCBO Gold Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2010
Messages
4,644
Reaction score
7,537
Location
Kingston Ontario Eh?
I use these exclusively..very reliable.
Any time the gauges are peggedcwith 12 volts it risks damaging the gauges.
Since the cluster will be out best to swap in working gauges or NOS units.
RTE limiter - rte
 

Davea Lux

Old Man with a Hat
FCBO Gold Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2017
Messages
8,914
Reaction score
8,069
Location
Cornelius Or
Thanks for the helpful info. Can a points distributor capacitor be used here or is the voltage limiter restricted to a certain type. I haven't been able to find any of these listed for a Mopar limiter.

The voltage limiter will work without the noise limiting capacitor its primary purpose was to keep static down on the radio. The noise limiter capacitor is a different type of capacitor than the ones used in a distributor. The noise limiter rarely failed, so it would probably be ok to reuse it.

Dave
 

saforwardlook

Old Man with a Hat
FCBO Gold Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2011
Messages
7,100
Reaction score
11,921
Location
California
I'd use the old one that tests OK. Sometimes, older is better.

I use these exclusively..very reliable.
Any time the gauges are peggedcwith 12 volts it risks damaging the gauges.
Since the cluster will be out best to swap in working gauges or NOS units.
RTE limiter - rte

@cbarge has it right. This is the one I now use in all my cars - they are solid state devices and should last a lifetime. They will also automatically prevent any gauges from burning out and they optically let you know when able to view them to ensure they are working just fine (they blink). These are the ones sold by Herb's Parts. Excellent upgrades.

I don't understand why anyone would recommend going with the originals only to have to replace the fuel gauge or others when the originals limiters go bad. Replacing the fuel gauge often requires the whole instrument cluster to come out and be torn down almost completely just to replace one. I just had to do it on one of my 71 Chryslers and it is no fun.
 

saforwardlook

Old Man with a Hat
FCBO Gold Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2011
Messages
7,100
Reaction score
11,921
Location
California
The voltage limiter will work without the noise limiting capacitor its primary purpose was to keep static down on the radio. The noise limiter capacitor is a different type of capacitor than the ones used in a distributor. The noise limiter rarely failed, so it would probably be ok to reuse it.

Dave

With the use of the Real Time Engineering solid state device, the directions say explicitly that you can just remove and throw away that capacitor. The solid state devices cause no such static by design.
 

Davea Lux

Old Man with a Hat
FCBO Gold Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2017
Messages
8,914
Reaction score
8,069
Location
Cornelius Or
With the use of the Real Time Engineering solid state device, the directions say explicitly that you can just remove and throw away that capacitor. The solid state devices cause no such static by design.

True if the op is going to use an electronic replacement for a driver. If this is going to someday be a points restoration, then the OEM style limiter and static capacitor should be retained. Pionts inspectors do look up and under the dash!

Dave
 

saforwardlook

Old Man with a Hat
FCBO Gold Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2011
Messages
7,100
Reaction score
11,921
Location
California
True if the op is going to use an electronic replacement for a driver. If this is going to someday be a points restoration, then the OEM style limiter and static capacitor should be retained. Pionts inspectors do look up and under the dash!

Dave
On the fuselage Chrysler models, most had plastic covers below the steering columns that really obscure viewing the limiters from down below.

Even if they could take away points for an electronic limiter, I wouldn't care. I am not risking my gauges when using the original limiters when they ultimately fail. Personally I have never seen a judge looking over one of our C bodies that carefully. They might even take points off for use of a dual master cylinder, but again I also wouldn't care if replacing a single pot one. Safety is paramount.

I have received many trophies in the past but they all sit in a corner of my garage and I will probably just throw them all out soon because they just take up room. I don't really care whether I receive one or not. The tough one to please is me, not the judges.
 

SA67NEWPORT

New Member
Joined
May 12, 2019
Messages
33
Reaction score
18
Location
RI
I designed and made my own solid state voltage limiter since I had parts to do so laying around. I can say that technically there is no need for that capacitor in a properly designed solid state device. It has been removed in my car and the only noise on the AM radio comes from the points ignition.
 

John Reddie

Member
Joined
May 9, 2017
Messages
67
Reaction score
61
Location
MA
I just wanted to say that I purchased a voltage limiter from RTE limiter Co. and they are great to deal with. I am still recovering from the accident I had back in October and haven't been able to replace my failed limiter yet but I am sure that this new one will be fine. Thanks again for the info.
John
 
Top