The list-

BoatMan

Reaction score
Maybe there is another thread for this already but I purchased this 66 300 and it is my first project car. There are a ton of things to do and I was wondering what type of order they should be in and possibly why. Also feel free to add to this list. Driver, not a show car by any means

Wheels/Tires- dry rot and rusted steel currently
Lower- Shocks/Bags (although bags seem impossible in my case for front)
Engine (383)- cam, carb, intake, etc
Exhaust- Headers, dual, Cutout?
Front end rebuild- kit?

FB_IMG_1486992341231.jpg

Maybe there is another thread for this already but I purchased this 66 300 and it is my first project car. There are a ton of things to do and I was wondering what type of order they should be in and possibly why. Also feel free to add to this list. Driver, not a show car by any means

Front end rebuild- kit?

It depends on your cars running condition. I went with tires first so I could roll her around, mine were to far gone even for driveway runs. While in there I checked out the brakes which turned out to be good for now.

I dug into the motor secondly as mine had a bad timing chain and I didn't want to throw that and cause more issues. While in there, I found a number of other issues: fuel system (entirely), oil system (entirely), carb rebuild, ign. rebuild, vacuum system rebuild .. started noting electrical problems but am hoping I can hold off on that for the remainder of the summer.

Once she is once again under her own power, I'll assess the susp/steering and go from there.

I'd advise against going to heavy on mods until you have it up and running well as stock. That can turn into a very deep and long rabbit hole.

Good luck with her, man!

Your choice, There is a great thread of options.
C-Body Wheel and Tire Survey
There are some people that do it, there is no kit...

if it runs good, leave it. Change the carb? Fuel Inject?
TTI would be the place to get that

Front end rebuild- kit?