Thinking of moving to the Lincoln County/Charlotte, NC area. Any members near there?

FURYGT

FCBO Gold Member
Reaction score
Looking for some pros and cons. Will need to buy a house with lots of garage space and find a job somewhere in the insurance industry. Sick of cold winters, snow, ice, high taxes and only being able to drive my C Body's 6 months of the year when it isn't raining all the time.

I'm in Asheville. 2 hours away. My mother in law owns an insurance agency and is looking for an agent.

I grew up in Charlotte. I left in 1989 and won't be back. Biggest city in the state. Housing isn't bad, price wise. Lincoln county is more small town and is a nice area, IMO.

Asheville area has tons of people from all over. A lot of them moved from NY (too cold) to Florida (too hot) and decided NC would be mild enough.

Charlotte has the same problems any big city has.

Where is your mother's agency located? I am a producer/agent for personal and commercial lines at an independent insurance agency right now that represents more than 20 companies.

I'm not a city person but my wife needs to be a reasonable distance from a place that has a specialized medical clinic, which Charlotte does plus I drag race and am a NASCAR fan so being an hour or so from Charlotte has some positives for me.

While I don’t live in Charlotte but can say from my experiences is it’s a pleasant city. Even more so if you live in one of the surrounding towns like say - Concord, with lots of access to the city everyday but none of the problems of living inside a city. You’d be nicely located, with Atlanta, Chattanooga and Columbia not too far. Still gets cold but nothing like CT. You can actually drive your cars 10+ months out of the year if you’d like. Oh and good stances on gun ownership if you’re into that kinda thing.