Time to step up and help me out

Marian

Reaction score
All right you guru's. I need some help. Time to buy the tires. Cokers tells me that I need 855x14's for the original fit. Last receipt I have from my dad was Montgomery Wards H78x14. Cokers can sell me a tire for 223.00 a piece. Seems a bit high. What should I do?

It depends. Are you going to drive the car, or restore to original standards, and use strictly for show? If you are going to use it as a driver, I would not recommend the coker repro bias ply tires. Modern 225/70R 14 radials in a whitewall are available from several makers such as Hankook, Cooper ect, and are much more roadworthy, provide better traction and stopping, and last a lot longer. I bought the 225/70R 14 Hankook whitewalls for my car from Discount Tires Direct for around 350 for the set, including shipping from Arizona to North Dakota. Having them mounted and balanced isn't that much more. You might be able to find some locally too.

855 by 14? Is it a 57 Imperial? If so, get the proper(sadly pricey) replacement from Coker...the car was made for them.

If they were making better tires in '57 they would have been using them then, put radials on it. My 2 cents...

I would go for original style looking bias ply tires. It needs a wide white stripe, too

I really like the look of period correct tires. Plus suspensions were tuned differently to harmonize with radials (Radial Tuned Suspensions that were advertized around the mid 70s), don't know how big the difference is with US cars. New bias plies I got on a few European cars were not that bad handling, they seem to have advancements in rubber technology built in as well. Tire pressures for the bias plies are a bit low recommended by the manufacturer for soft ride, I usually inflate them a bit higher. If you have tube type rims you have also issues combining tubes and radials. But with a 65 model you should have tubeless rims already.
The General used Radials here I guess :)