1. Timmayy

    Timmayy New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2021
    Location:
    Tiverton, Rhode Island
    I've been really delving into my 67 Fury wagon. It has the optional fender mounted turn signals. I was under the dash and I noticed that there are no bulbs or sockets for the turn signal indicator lights on the dash. I couldn't find any evidence of them ever being there. Was the fender mounts the only functional ones with that option? Just curious.
     
  2. 1970FuryConv

    1970FuryConv Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,882
    Likes Received:
    2295
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    My 1973 Monaco is the same way. Fender top turn signal lights so no turn signals in the dash. My 1973 owner's manual confirms that if the car was ordered with fender top turn signal lights, the turn signal lights in the dash would be replaced with warning lights. Thus I have warning lights about doors open, etc, but no turn signal lights in my dash. 1967 is probably the same.
     
    • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
  3. cbarge

    cbarge World Famous Barge in a Budget FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    4,467
    Likes Received:
    5003
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Location:
    Kingston Ontario Eh?
    THe dash turn signal indicators are on a cirucuit board in the speedometer head.
    Peanut bulbs in a twistlock socket.
    Left at Zero and right at 120.
    My 68 Vip had both dash and fender mounted signals functioning.
    Hope this helps.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Timmayy

    Timmayy New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2021
    Location:
    Tiverton, Rhode Island
    How about the hi beam headlight indicator? I couldn't find a socket for that either.
     
  5. Timmayy

    Timmayy New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2021
    Location:
    Tiverton, Rhode Island
    I couldn't find any sockets. Only the holes behind the speedo where they would go and they didn't look like anything was ever installed. No scratches or anything.
     
  6. 1970FuryConv

    1970FuryConv Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,882
    Likes Received:
    2295
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    My cars are 1970-1973. All of them have high beam indicators in or above the instrument cluster. I would think 1967 cars would also have that indicator light. Looking under dash, makes it hard to see.
    My 1970 High Beam indicator is above and forward of the center of the instrument cluster. You can see it above and forward of the 60 mph hash mark in the pic below.
    20171124_165403.jpg
     
  7. Mike66Chryslers

    Mike66Chryslers Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    730
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    My 66 Windsor came with the fender indicators and had lights in the dash as well when I bought it, though someone could have added them. My brother's 66 NYer had the fender indicators and I believe he said that there were no turn signal lights in the dash. He was working under the dash changing burned-out bulbs and added them himself.

    I think they were supposed to omit the bulbs in the dash of you got the ones on the fenders, but some cars got both installed.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  8. 413

    413 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    333
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Location:
    NW USA
    This is often how they came from the factory with only the fender indicators working
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  9. Big_John

    Big_John Illegitimi non carborundum FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    15,040
    Likes Received:
    9497
    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Location:
    Marcellus, NY
    The sockets and bulbs looked like these in the eBay link. I've installed them in cars with fender signals that didn't have the dash bulbs. One of those things that's a personal preference.

    As said, simple insert and twist... But the sockets won't be there. There's a pic in the eBay ad.

    OEM Mopar Instrument Panel Dash Light Socket & Bulb Kit Dodge Plymouth '62-79 | eBay

    You might find these cheaper, but these are gennie Mopar items with the correct bulbs.
     
  10. mrfury68

    mrfury68 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    488
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Location:
    Bethel Park PA
    My '68 Fury has both cluster and fender indicators. Your '67 wagon would have the same cluster as my Fury. The high beam indicator would have the same type of bulb and twist socket.
     
  11. Timmayy

    Timmayy New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2021
    Location:
    Tiverton, Rhode Island
    I have a bunch of these but the gauge cluster looks like I would need wired sockets rather than just twist them in a circuit board. I do see the hi beam indicator spot behind my dash. I'm going to try and install the bulbs this weekend.
     
  12. CBODY67

    CBODY67 Old Man with a Hat

    Messages:
    6,771
    Likes Received:
    1545
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Our '66 Newport Town Sedan had the optional fender-mounted signal lights. Where the instrument cluster lights were supposed to be never did light up, so I just figured that the exterior ones (on top of the fender) were all that happened in that case. Neat thing is that people rearward of the car could see them too (just like many recent-vintage cars came to have!). Never had to replace any of the cluster bulbs so never did look under there.

    Enjoy!
    CBODY67
     
  13. Ross Wooldridge

    Ross Wooldridge Senior Member FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    4,095
    Likes Received:
    1295
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Location:
    Scotland, Ontario, Canada
    My 66 Fender top turn signal indicators had black tape factory applied over the holes in the circuit board where the twist in bulbs go in the cluster. All I needed to do was remove the black tape and twist in a couple of correct bulb in their holders and then they came to life.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  14. MrMoparCHP

    MrMoparCHP Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,832
    Likes Received:
    2840
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Location:
    Lompoc, CA
    Interesting, looking at the parts book it appears the 67 Fury doesn't use a circuit board.


    Alan
     
    • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
  15. 67 ragtop

    67 ragtop New Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2019
    Location:
    central TX
    It is a peanut bulb in the speedometer head as well at least on my 67 Fury convertible. I also have the fender mount signals but only my drivers side works. I am trying to find a bulb for that.
     
  16. cbarge

    cbarge World Famous Barge in a Budget FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    4,467
    Likes Received:
    5003
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Location:
    Kingston Ontario Eh?
    Nigel at National Moparts sells the bulbs for your fender mounted signals. Sold only as a pack of ten.
    Tell em I sent ya!
    National Moparts
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Timmayy

    Timmayy New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2021
    Location:
    Tiverton, Rhode Island
    That's what I'm seeing. If I wanted to put bulbs in, it looks like I would have to splice in the sockets.
     
  18. CBODY67

    CBODY67 Old Man with a Hat

    Messages:
    6,771
    Likes Received:
    1545
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Rather than "circuit board", what about "printed circuit" which is a flexible item with the circuits printed on it, which lays against the backside of the plastic housing the bulbs illuminate in (think reflector)? The bulb sockets have two contacts on them which index with the printed circuit when the sockets are inserted and "clicked" into place.

    Just some thoughts,
    CBODY67
     
  19. Big_John

    Big_John Illegitimi non carborundum FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    15,040
    Likes Received:
    9497
    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Location:
    Marcellus, NY
    A picture is always worth a thousand words and this surprised me. I figured on a circuit board, so I was wrong about the sockets/bulbs that I posted.

    s-l1600.jpg

    I think it uses a socket like this, but don't take that as gospel.

    s-l1600.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  20. cbarge

    cbarge World Famous Barge in a Budget FCBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    4,467
    Likes Received:
    5003
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Location:
    Kingston Ontario Eh?
    Thanks John. Sorry y'all! Thought circuit board.