Unable to siphon fuel from tank

65Polara383

Reaction score
I have a 1965 Dodge Polara sedan I am currently restoring. I added gas to the tank about a week ago, and need to remove it to install new fuel lines.
I have a functioning siphon pump but am unable to get fuel out of the tank with it. The fuel filler is behind the license plate holder. The tube from the pump is entering the tank but does not seem to be making contact with the fuel. Does anyone know why the siphon isn't working?

This is my first project car so any help is greatly appreciated.

I have a 1965 Dodge Polara sedan I am currently restoring. I added gas to the tank about a week ago, and need to remove it to install new fuel lines.
I have a functioning siphon pump but am unable to get fuel out of the tank with it. The fuel filler is behind the license plate holder. The tube from the pump is entering the tank but does not seem to be making contact with the fuel. Does anyone know why the siphon isn't working?

This is my first project car so any help is greatly appreciated.
How much fuel do you estimate is in it? You might have to jack up the front of the car to get it towards the back.

You might hook the pump to the fuel line near the engine, before it goes into the fuel pump. That way, no need to do it from the rear, but might put a clear filter on the line before it attaches to the fuel line on the car, for good measure.

There might be a baffle in the tank, to decrease "slosh" and all that might mean (inside the tank).

Just some thoughts,
CBODY67

Since the filler is at the rear of the car you might try jacking up the rear of the car so the gas goes forward.
When inserting the siphoning tube it should bottom out at the front side of the tank and in the gas.

I drained the tank on my 66 fury by siphoning through the sending unit. I started the flow with a hand vacuum pump. The car was on stands, but level. It worked well for me. FWIW Lindsay

WHY do you wish to remove fuel....?