Questions on timing chain and oil slinger

spstan

Reaction score
I have pictures of my timing chain. My race car driving neighbor says it looks "awfully loose". I have no prior experience with timing chains so I thought I would post the pictures and see what you guys think. Does it look bad or have you seen worse?

The second question is on the oil slinger. I saw on Nick's Garage on You Tube where he takes apart a 1968 440 engine and the oil slinger was right in front when he removed the cover. When I took the timing chain cover off there was no oil slinger. Did the 1975 Chrysler New Yorker omit the oil slinger? Should I put a replacement oil slinger in even if there was no original part. Thanks Paul

chain 3.jpg

chain1.jpg

chain2.jpg

The usual failure point is the plastic teeth on the upper cam gear. The chain looks a little loose... I would replace as the timing cover is off already and that cam gear WILL eventually fail without warning.

And yes, I believe there should be an oil slinger.

I might take that back about the oil slinger... I had to know... LOL... I looked in my '70 and then my '74 (newest I have) parts manuals and the '70 shows one and the '74 doesn't show one.

Someone else might be able to tell us if there was one.

Yep, you need to change out that timing gear set. As said, those nylon upper teeth can shred off...yours isnt that bad, but it is definitely worn. A new timing set will definitely increase engine power as timing will not be as retarded due to chain wear. You can see the wear in the upper gear teeth on the side of the chain that pulls the gear around in a clockwise motion.