Time to get my grandpas fury going

awillard95

Reaction score
I have a 65 Plymouth sport fury 383 car. My grandpa bought it in the mid 70s with no reverse for $100. He dropped the pan changed fluid&filter and drove it till my mom got out of high school in 89. She hasn’t been on the road since and me and my grandpa was gonna start working on it when I graduated and started working, but unfortunately he passed away shortly after. I’ve let the car sit for 9 years since, but the times come to get it back to gather. Car is very rough but means a lot to me. Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you!

11053AA6-1F8D-46A0-A353-5C8A2F27000D.png

F28AF8C5-B692-4416-800D-873812910394.jpeg

What are your plans for it. A nice driver or a full restoration? I would get it running and road worthy first then decide about the cosmetic stuff. Should be nice when it's done.

Welcome to the group. Most the info. you'll need is right here. Projects like this always seem to take more time/$$ than expected, but when done you'll be taking a ride in the same Fury your grandpa did. NOTHING takes the place of that. I'd say get it running/'safely operational, then approach the rest as you go. Where in NC are you? At least one or two others on this list are in NC. Good luck with it.

Brakes and steering (looks like you already did tires) first. A thorough deep-clean inside and out; trunk and engine compartments, too. Remove and clean the gas tank - reinstall.

What are your plans for it. A nice driver or a full restoration? I would get it running and road worthy first then decide about the cosmetic stuff. Should be nice when it's done.
Plan to just make it a driver so I can enjoy it then work on making it nicer over time.