Welding up a new tank

jake

Reaction score
I am making a fuel tank out of stainless as I plan on putting in a fuel pump for a holley sniper system(more to come on that, 383 stroked). If I can not get my hands on enough ss, I plan on using 16 gauge carbon steel which I have unlimited access to. I am a welder by trade so I am not worried about leaks, but curious about rust. My existing original fuel tank is out of the car and looks absolutely perfect on the inside, no rust at all but I keep reading about sealers in fab forums. My thought is that the original did not have it so my new one will not either. What do you guys think? Anyone else done this before? I have a idea on a baffle design but any ideas would be wonderful. The tank is going to match oem except 1 inch deeper and have a flat step on the top in the front to mount the fuel pump.
Side view
9wcmbA1vrMmG2CLCUB4CgrwZZyGhXQnJ5fDuFTADTewMRsuAsfA882ffMkUNVK4E_jrmBktp-bQ_z1aEQvEq0LoiswcuAGdJYR0Zv7aPLUL7V0aulyQnQjZPSlj2w5KszfWT7_dXFxoQf1ZNJoFk4-q2adJxHFqc_HS87inj1jkUmfaDd7csHetpgiGS0_g_8n2ja4MurG7wysuca10GnjYgsqOyHXeC13WjaYapNGXLf5qMubtlInkRr1WXKOIT9QeTwi0MxtU_uv2Rq8EUA0Xdc2JkCozaL6C9h4BI54kJn-aUDFcT-I9tAq-HZuIJbkQxLX2SGJg1fO1AHCRnmpiVbjl57vHfIeGZrb3raxUrriZ8h8tM4QBrXtQVcdQRygWBK3ij8_N_7qpIqAtlwGKNOVssCtFrwn8ODmOSMvSCcVz1O3vA-gInQPLow_uxZlknZ0g-7rwP0ostQ32tFlRiA9nf7MREFYnxXOD_Y1C4JmOCG6OOzKZ3vA-AGBA3Tc9kroyZBEvDb7qs4xnU0OBaeYco4KyC_anQM2_zsHJqql6h2x6FmrKJNwBzgbJheemeQkDd16cyL5hxUwmTeRuceVTCs7DsdKyqE_3fAme-SaOzekgtRvkCngECYLGr1I7M-PipbhCDv103YNllz04ZYxROWcT1xQ0oXe9Twa02TuB29S-JLdxAt4xyIg=w651-h867-no

I'd avoid sealer personally. If you keep the tank full of fuel they don't rust or if you keep the car in a climate controlled environment where they can't condense water in the tank they don't rust either. Its leaving them empty or low and letting water condense that kills tanks.