Carb Questions

66MonacoWagon

Reaction score
I know that carbs are actively discussed - I am pretty new to my car and mopars, so forgive my elementary questions. I've got what I think are some choke/misfire issues (when revs over idle), and I'm thinking the carb will be a good place to start if its never been rebuilt (63K miles survivor car). I've got most the repair records but none showing the carb has ever been touched. Ignition parts were done at 50K in 2003. Car is a 66 Monaco wagon 383 4V California car with cleaner air package. I've run seafoam through it with no improvement.

Here is what I am trying to determine:
1. Is it original? Tag shows 4133S, base shows 9635S (?) I found a Carter 9133 is correct for a 66 383, so I think it's original.
2. Rebuild myself? Are they complicated? I've rebuilt several for my previous hobby (Chevy Corvairs)
3. If rebuilding, best place to buy and best kit?
4. If not rebuilding, easier to replace with a better carb? I'm only looking for factory performance.

Some pictures are attached.
Thanks!
Joe

IMG_1433.JPG

View attachment 141355

IMG_1441.JPG

View attachment 141357

IMG_1437.JPG

I know that carbs are actively discussed - I am pretty new to my car and mopars, so forgive my elementary questions. I've got what I think are some choke/misfire issues (when revs over idle), and I'm thinking the carb will be a good place to start if its never been rebuilt (63K miles survivor car). I've got most the repair records but none showing the carb has ever been touched. Ignition parts were done at 50K in 2003. Car is a 66 Monaco wagon 383 4V California car with cleaner air package. I've run seafoam through it with no improvement.

Here is what I am trying to determine:
1. Is it original? Tag shows 4133S, base shows 9635S (?) I found a Carter 9133 is correct for a 66 383, so I think it's original.
2. Rebuild myself? Are they complicated? I've rebuilt several for my previous hobby (Chevy Corvairs)