Electric furyland!

furyus 67

Reaction score
I'm pretty sure I have a ground issue but I am no expert, so I figured I'd toss this one by you guys. I've got power to my ign switch but will not start car. I can jump the solenoid and get it to engage the starter. Ive tested the yellow wire that goes to the solenoid while having someone turn the key and I get no power. I also have no headlights,tail lights brake lights,dome lights. But I do have a horn(yay). Also for some reason my dome light switches on the doors will activate the voltage meter as if I've turned to the on position. I'm scratching my head on this one.

Sounds like you are not getting power into the car.
The horn button is the ground not the power as are the door switches.

I'd check the fusible link to see if it is passing power, unplug the bulkhead connector and check power there.

If you have power there, plug it back in and see if you can get to the back of the amp gauge and the ignition switch plug.

Start following the circuit through.
Make some copies of the wiring diagram and trace the circuit on it with a marker, one circuit per copy.
I did the full series of these for my truck, here is the ignition and starter ones for it...
70wire-Ignition.png

70wire-Starter.png

Once you have a diagram just start at the battery and follow the power, not difficult once you have a clear picture.

Alan

That is a good idea!! Thanks Alan! I was hoping it may be a common issue. I do know I am getting power @ the switch bit no where else. I guess it's off the the wire chases! But 1st I need to put on some CCR!

That is a good idea!! Thanks Alan! I was hoping it may be a common issue. I do know I am getting power @ the switch bit no where else. I guess it's off the the wire chases! But 1st I need to put on some CCR!

Switch could be bad, turn the key to the run position and check the ballast and the accessory buss on the fuse block (like the radio fuse).

Alan