1962-64 Body Plate Decoder

Torky

Reaction score
Newbie here asking for help in developing a Body Plate/VIN Tag decoder for 1962-1964 Chryslers and Imperials. I have the 1963-64 part working pretty well but am struggling with the 1962 section, especially the Imperial section. My request: Pictures of the Body Data Plate and a corresponding list of the options/equipment actually on the car. The VIN is not needed for the decoder but serves to complete the reports.The decoder will be widely available. I anyone has already trod this road, please advise. An example showing the report for our '64 300K rag is attached. Longer range, I see this decoder can be modified to cover thefull range of 1960-1965 Chryslers and Imperials--with your help.

64 300K Conv. Barber.JPG

In some years of the Chrysler Parts Manual, the front "INFO" section will have a graphic of the data plate and what each space is supposed to have in it.

Parts manuals can be free-downloaded at www.mymopar.com . www.jholst.net has some similar information, too. www.hamtramck-historical has information regarding option code numbers, including Imperial-specific data books and such in the "Library" section, just not for 1962.

I would suspect that as similar as the 1962 and 1963 Imperials were, the 1963 option codes could have been the same as the 1962 option codes.

Enjoy!
CBODY67

Thanks for your prompt response. The '60-'65 Parts Manuals, anyway, always show great detail of VIN tags but I have never seen anything about codes on the Body Data Plates/Fender Tags. 1963 & 1964 Chrysler and Imperial body codes are quite similar but 1962 is different regarding the options line, order codes and placement. Detective work underway requires more data.

The reason I included the www.jholst.net website was that that website's orientation is toward the Letter Cars, although much of it can also relate to normal Chryslers of the 1955-1965 era.