1978 New Yorker Salon

The 3/4 inch whites are on my car. the 1 5/8 in (1.6 cm) were the factory offering.

Brochure pic of the 78 NY Brougham has the whitewalls on my car:

Front.jpg

This source - New Yorker Online - for an at-the-time 17,000 mile original (except for tires) has authoritative references about the car .. but I am not an expert and do not represent this to be the "truth" of things. just something i found on the internet.

It it consistent with my understanding tho -- every one I ever saw 40 years ago had the wide-whites from the factory. It also says there were no promotional materials for the Salon package officially from Chrysler .. I have looked and found nothing as well.

Interior From Passenger Side.jpg
Passenger Side Bed.jpg
RT Front.jpg

Enginee right side.jpg

This is my '78 NYB with the rare Salon package, which is listed but not shown in the brochures. In fact, I've never seen an official Chrysler picture of a car with the package, but since mine is a 17,000-mile original, I know this car is essentially reference material.

Enginee right side.jpg

The Salon package was optional only in 1978, and only on 4-door hardtops. For $630.60, it consisted of:

• Exclusive "Silver Crystal Coat" paint (code RA3, with no swatch included in the color and trim guide even though the package is listed). This was Chrysler's first clearcoat paint ever, and it was hand-buffed at the factory, according to a code on the build sheet.
  • Red tape stripes (in the new-for-1978 placement along the lower bodysides).
  • Silver "Elk-grain" (smooth-grain) padded vinyl roof with formal backlight (reduced-size rear window like the '74-5 Imperials had, but as '78s were the only ones without the "halo" roof, it's a unique-to-the-Salon style and texture).